Treaty of Rome: Books

Pierre Gerbet retrace ici l'évolution historique et analyse la genèse de la CEE dont le Grand Marché intérieur est l'élément central, mais non unique. C'est le début d'une grand union économique, mais celle-ci peut-elle se réaliser sans une unification politique ?

This non-fiction story recreates the decade that gave birth to the European Communities (1948-1957). Written in a journalistic style, it shows the origins of the EU project through the eyes of the protagonists. All facts and conversations have been taken from the memoirs of the protagonists, newspaper articles, speeches, EU historical archives and interviews with people who knew them.

Companion to the exhibition with the same name organized by the Commission of the European Communities.

This collection of ECSC Common Assembly documents (many of them published for the first time) and the accompanying account of events illustrate the contribution that the Assembly made to the work leading up to the Rome Treaties. The publication covers the three-year period from August 1954 (which saw the collapse of the European Defence Community project) to March 1957.

Exploring the development of the European Union, this book examines the ways in which it has been studied over fifty years from the vantage point of four disciplines, each side of the Atlantic, and both academic and practitioner perspectives. Drawing on contributions by some of the world's leading scholars in the field, it maps the past and present of both the EU and EU studies before setting out a provocative agenda for future work in the area.

Financial integration was far from being their main concern. With the creation of the Common Market in the sixties the first – prudent – steps were taken towards financial unification. The European Economic Community equipped itself with a fully-fledged financial column from 1985 onwards, when a programme for the full liberalisation of goods, services, people and capital was set up. Nonetheless many legal and technical obstacles are yet to be overcome. In this publication, the author studies the reason why it has been so difficult to set up a unified European financial market, how unification has moved forward and what decisions.

In light of Europe's prolonged state of crisis, this book reassesses the challenges and prospects of the European integration process. Scholars from diverse disciplines reflect on various types of integration by analyzing political, economic and sociological variables, while also taking legal and cultural constraints into account.

The establishment of the EEC and Euratom under the 1957 Rome Treaties meant that, as a single body serving the three Communities, European Parliamentary Assembly was no longer the seat of democratic representation for an organisation dealing with one sector, but of a system of Communities which embraced the entire range of productive activities and trade. The European Parliamentary made it the subject of one of its first reports. This publication deals essentially with that report, setting it in the context of the broader debate on the nature and future of integration addressed at the sittings of the part-session of March 1958.

This book draws upon traditional areas of research, but crucially also breaks new ground, demonstrating the innovative approaches of a new generation of historians. In the book, twenty-two young scholars explore five different interpretative strands of the study of the history of European integration.

This publication is a contribution to the celebrations in 2007 of the 50th anniversary of the Treaty of Rome. It provides an opportunity to look at the history of the European Union from an unusual angle: to what extent has the citizen made progress in the economic framework of the Treaty of Rome? To what extent has the economic Union become a citizen’s Union? This is a largely unwritten history. Why not explore this theme?

This is a collection of newspaper articles from the day of the signing of the Treaty of Rome.

Extracts from speeches made in Rome on 25 March by Sir Henry Plumb, President of the European Parliament, Mr Leo Tindemans,
President of the Council of the European Communities, Mr Jacques Delors, President of the Commission of the European Communities, Lord Mackenzie Stuart, President of the Court of Justice of the European Communities, and Mr Bettino Craxi, Prime Minister of Italy, on the occasion of the formal celebrations to mark the 30th anniversary of the signing of the Treaties of Rome on the Capitol.

This is a contemporary Commentary to the Treaty of Rome.

This contemporary books contains the text of the Treaty of Rome in its original four languages.

This Eurostat publication celebrates the 50th anniversary of the signing of the Treaty of Rome establishing the European Economic Community (EEC) in 2006. The treaty consists of 240 articles, as covered by six separate parts. This publication presents a collection of statistical indicators relating to the different areas covered by the preamble to the treaty, tracing the evolution of the European Community over five decades.

This book revisits, in a new light, some of the classic cases which constitute the foundations of the EU legal order and is timed to celebrate the 50th anniversary of the Rome Treaty establishing a European Economic Community.

Since the 1957 Rome Treaty, the European Union has changed dramatically. Each volume of this work tries to present a broad historical and comparative perspective. Volume I provides an analysis of the constitutional principles governing the European Union. It covers the history of the EU, the constitutional foundations, the institutional framework, legislative and executive governance, judicial protection, and external relations. Pages 3 to 18 on the founding of the EEC.

This book provides a thorough analytical overview of the European Union's existing law and policy in the field of international trade. Considering the history and context of the law's evolution, it offers an adept examination of its common commercial policy competence through the years, starting with the Treaty of Rome up until the Treaty of Lisbon, as a background for understanding the EU's present role in the World Trade Organization (WTO) framework.

This reference work provides an analysis of Articles 30-36 of the Treaty of Rome, together with discussion of the case law and legislation relating to direct and indirect hindrances to trade within the European Community.