Discover more - EU - ASEAN - LibGuides at General Secretariat of the Council of the EU

ASEAN

ASEAN webpage
The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) is a regional forum with an aim to promote political cooperation and stability, trade and economic expansion, as well as social development of member countries.
ASEAN - EU relations resources
Information on ASEAN-European Union dialogue relations. Includes useful links, key documents and meetings notes.
ASEANStats
ASEANstats is committed to serving the statistical information needs of the peoples, institutions, businesses and civil societies of ASEAN and of the international community. Browse ASEANStats' publications and data on Trade in Goods, Trade in Services, Foreign Direct Investment (FDI), Tourism, Population, GDP and other indicators.
ASEAN speeches & statements
Documents containing speeches and statements given by the Secretary-General of ASEAN (present and former), Deputy Secretaries-General, and other ASEAN leaders.
Asean Digital Library
The ASEAN Digital Library is a regional project to aggregate and connect the digitised resources of National Libraries in the ASEAN region so that these repositories can be accessed through a single search facility.
ASEAN GI Database
ASEAN GI Database is the common online geographical indications platform of the ASEAN Member States aimed at making the information of all registered geographical indications in the ASEAN region widely available and easily accessible.
This tool was funded by the European Union and implemented by the European Union Intellectual Property Office (EUIPO).

Resources (some restricted to Council staff)

EU - ASEAN Business Council
The EU-ASEAN Business Council (EU-ABC) is the primary voice for European business within the ASEAN region. It is formally recognised by the European Commission and accredited under Annex 2 of the ASEAN Charter as an entity associated with ASEAN.
Connect S & P Global : country analysis & forecast service
Formerly known as IHS Connect, it provides information and analysis on global economics and country risks, including in-depth analysis and forecasts for around 200 countries. Links to a list of ASEAN related resources.
Economist Intelligence Unit : Asia
The Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) provides forecasting and advisory services through research and analysis; such as country reports. The country reports cover political and economic analysis and forecasts for 189 countries.
ASEAN Summit 2022 preview by Economist Intelligence Unit
Publication Date: 2022

Cambodia will host the annual ASEAN summits and related conferences on November 8th‑13th. It will be the first in‑person gathering in two years, after the annual summits in 2020 and 2021 were conducted virtually. Attending world leaders are expected to emphasise their belief in ASEAN's so‑called "centrality" in Asian diplomacy. Climate change and environmental protection will also be major talking points. Several South‑east Asian countries, particularly Vietnam, remain amongst the world's fastest-growing economies, which will incentivise visiting foreign leaders to reaffirm their investment and trade links with the region.
Oxford Analytica
Oxford Analytica is an independent, privately held company founded in 1975 to bring timely and authoritative analysis of world developments to business and government leaders, to identify the key political, economic, legal and regulatory factors in complex markets.
OECD iLibrary - ASEAN
OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics and is the knowledge base of OECD's analysis and data. It includes high-quality publications on ASEAN.
Economic Research Institute for ASEAN and East Asia (ERIA)
Search annual reports, publications, books, policy briefs, newsletters, event reports and research projects.
Think Asia
Publications from think tanks and civil society organisations.
Asian Development Bank Institute
The Asian Development Bank Institute was established in 1997 in Tokyo, Japan, to help build capacity, skills, and knowledge related to poverty reduction and other areas that support long-term growth and competitiveness in developing economies in Asia and the Pacific. Contains links to research reports, papers, events and podcasts.
The National Bureau of Asian Research (NBR)
The National Bureau of Asian Research (NBR) helps decision-makers better understand Asia and craft concrete, actionable policy. Access NBR publications.
Asia-Pacific Center for Security Studies
A U.S. Department of Defense institute that addresses regional and global security issues
Mekong Institute
Mekong Institute is an intergovernmental organization run by six governments in the Greater Mekong Sub-region: Cambodia, China, Laos, Myanmar, Thailand and Vietnam. MI delivers various programs and activities focusing on human resource development and capacity building for regional cooperation and integration.
The RAND Center for Asia Pacific Policy (CAPP)
Think Tank. The RAND Center for Asia Pacific Policy (CAPP) brings multidisciplinary, analytic, and regional expertise to the key policy issues of the Asia Pacific.
The Center for Strategic and International Studies (CSIS) - Asia
A a bipartisan, nonprofit policy research organization dedicated to advancing practical ideas to address the world’s greatest challenges. Find the latest research from CSIS scholars and events.
Eurasianet
Eurasianet is an independent news organization that covers news from and about the South Caucasus and Central Asia, providing on-the-ground reporting and critical perspectives on the most important developments in the region. We strive to provide information useful to policymakers, scholars, and interested citizens both in and outside of Eurasia.
UN Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP)
Promotes cooperation among its 53 member States and 9 associate members in pursuit of solutions to sustainable development challenges.
The International Crisis Group - Asia
The International Crisis Group is an independent organisation working to prevent wars and shape policies that will build a more peaceful world.
Asia-Europe Foundation : publications
An intergovernmental not-for-profit organisation which brings together the peoples of Asia and Europe to address common global challenges.
The European Institute for Asian Studies (EIAS) : publications
A leading Think Tank based in Brussels focusing on EU-Asia relations.
The International Institute for Asian Studies (IIAS)
IIAS is a global humanities and social sciences research institute and knowledge exchange platform that supports programmes which engage Asian and other international partners.
IRASEC
L’IRASEC développe la recherche sur les pays de la région dans les différentes disciplines de sciences humaines et sociales : anthropologie, démographie, droit, géographie, histoire contemporaine, histoire de l’art, sciences économiques, sciences de l’éducation, sciences politiques et sociologie.

Journals

Journal of Southeast Asian Economies by ISEAS- Yusof Ishak Institute
The Journal of Southeast Asian Economies (JSEAE) is a peer-reviewed multi-disciplinary journal focusing on economic issues in Southeast Asia.
Economic Outlook for Southeast Asia, China and India by OECD Development Centre
The Economic Outlook for Southeast Asia, China and India is a regular publication on regional economic growth and development in Emerging Asia.
ASEAN economic bulletin by Institute of Southeast Asian Studies. ASEAN Economic Research Unit
Articles, book reviews, and conference information about economic development, political and social change in Southeast Asia. Records from 1984-2013.
State of Southeast Asia Survey by ISEAS-Yusof Ishak Institute
The State of Southeast Asia survey was launched in 2019 to gauge the views and perceptions of Southeast Asians regarding geopolitical developments affecting the region, key regional affairs and how ASEAN has engaged with its Dialogue Partners over the preceding year.

Ebook Central

Ebook Central by ProQuest
Ebook Central is a collection of scholarly eBooks from leading publishers. It covers the arts, business, education, health & medicine, history, law, literature & language, religion & philosophy, science & technology and the social sciences.

The Council library manages licences in order to provide direct access to as many ebooks as possible.
You can easily find the links to our ebooks by consulting Eureka.
You will recognise them when you see this:

This way the library makes it easy for you to discover the titles of this collection. In addition, on the Ebook Central platform, you can request access to selected ebooks via a built-in form. We now use a single sign-on authentication service called OpenAthens® that enables access to subscription-based electronic resources both inside and outside the GSC network.

For more information, please consult the Library Guide : "Ebooks: How to & tips" or Contact the Council Library.

Eureka

Eureka
Eureka is the Council Library's discovery service.

Eureka is the main information point about resources and services from the Council Library, there you can:

Search and browse the library's collections, not only books and journals but also databases, book chapters, articles, references... physical and online.
Reserve books and renew your loans
Save searches, set alerts, save your favourites...

Please visit this Library guide to know more about how to use Eureka

EU - ASEAN: Discover more

ASEAN

Resources (some restricted to Council staff)

Journals

Ebook Central

Eureka