Economic and financial affairs: Books

In this book, a historical analysis of the precedents of the euro is examined within the context of the current issues affecting the Eurozone and the long-term effects of the institutional changes implemented since 2010. The book begins by placing the Eurozone challenges in the historical context of previous monetary unions, drawing on the experience of the gold standard. It then specifically focuses on the problems arising from the running of permanent trade imbalances within the Eurozone.

This book examines the politics of Banking Union and EMU reform in the EU, and draws lessons for what it means for international politics, both in Europe, and for international relations more broadly. It demonstrates that most of the reforms in Europe to break free of the Eurozone and banking crises in which Europe continues to find itself focus on building up the capacities of national authorities rather than European ones. The result is that national authorities remain largely in control of the decisions and funds that are to be deployed to prevent economic disaster if a single EU bank fails. The likely outcome is an accelerated balkanization of the European market for the foreseeable future.

The euro crisis made Europe’s stateless currency falter. This book retraces and interprets the ways in which the crisis impacted the unique institutional set-up of Europe’s Economic and Monetary Union (EMU). It argues that the crisis propelled the European continent towards the institutionalization of an unprecedented form of centralized authority: Europe’s New Fiscal Union. Diving into the central functions of fiscal surveillance, financial assistance, lending of last resort and banking resolution, the book reveals how a covert and convoluted mutualisation process occurred in the shadow of the euro crisis management.

The book covers some of the major issues concerning the problematic relationship between respect for democratic principles and the new European Economic Governance. Innovative approaches are highlighted throughout the book: new frameworks and arrangements are proposed on the basis of efficiency analyses, as well as their institutional and legal suitability. Though the perspective adopted is essentially a legal one, the economic and policy background are also given due consideration.

Since the outbreak of the 2008 ­financial crisis, European Union (EU) institutions and Member States have engaged in a major effort to repair the architecture of economic governance of the European Economic and Monetary Union (EMU). This book takes as its starting point the unclear notion of financial stability, which only recently has received a more detailed legal analysis. It examines the evolution of the concept of financial stability during the financial crisis and provides a conceptual framework in order to demonstrate that financial has become a foundational objective in Europe and has set a new normative framework in EU law and policy.

This book explores the political and economic issues currently challenging EU member states affecting both the core Eurozone and non-core states. It analyses and explains how its own economic, and political, relationships have been critically influenced by fierce competition from its rivals in other major global economies, as well as by the systemic weaknesses in the economic and financial model it created. 

The eleventh edition of Economics of Monetary Union provides a concise analysis of the theories and policies relating to monetary union. The author addresses current issues surrounding the Eurozone, including; a critical discussion of the costs and benefits of possible exits by its member countries, an analysis of the role of the ECB as new single supervisor and detail on the sovereign debt crisis.

The establishment of Banking Union represents a major development in European economic governance and European integration history more generally. Banking Union is also significant because not all European Union (EU) member states have joined, which has increased the trend towardsdifferentiated integration in the EU, posing a major challenge to the EU as a whole and to the opt-out countries. This book is informed by two main empirical questions. Why was Banking Union - presented by proponents as a crucial move to 'complete' Economic and Monetary Union (EMU) - proposed onlyin 2012, over twenty years after the adoption of the Maastricht Treaty?

Crypto-Finance, Law and Regulation investigates whether crypto-finance will cause a paradigm shift in regulation from a centralised model to a model based on distributed consensus. This book explores the emergence of a decentralised and disintermediated crypto-market and investigates the way in which it can transform the financial markets. It examines three components of the financial market - technology, finance, and the law - and shows how their interrelationship dictates the structure of a crypto-market. It focuses on regulators' enforcement policies and their jurisdiction over crypto-finance operators and participants. The book also discusses the latest developments in crypto-finance, and the advantages and disadvantages of crypto-currency as an alternative payment product.

In this book, legal scholars from the EU Member States (with the addition of the UK) analyse the development of the EU Member States' attitudes to economic, fiscal, and monetary integration since the Treaty of Maastricht.The Eurozone crisis corroborated the warnings of economists that weak economic policy coordination and loose fiscal oversight would be insufficient to stabilise the monetary union. The country studies in this book investigate the legal, and in particular the constitutional, pre-conditions for deeper fiscal and monetary integration that influenced the past and might impact on the future positions in the (now) 27 EU Member States.

This is the first book to offer a profound, practical analysis of the framework for the judicial and pre-judicial protection of rights under the supranational banking supervision and resolution powers in the European Banking Union (EBU). It is also unique in its in-depth commentary on the developing case law from the European Court of Justice in this new field of EU litigation.

Presenting a sweeping analysis of the legal foundations, institutions, and substantive legal issues in EU monetary integration, The EU Law of Economic and Monetary Union serves as an authoritative reference on the legal framework of European economic and monetary union. The book opens by setting out the broader contexts for the European project - historical, economic, political, and regarding the international framework. It goes on to examine the constitutional architecture of EMU; the main institutions and their legal powers; the core legal provisions of monetary and economic union; and the relationship of EMU with EU financial market and banking regulation.

Over the last few decades, banks, insurers, pension funds, investments firms and other financial institutions have become subject to sometimes dramatically new, but always substantially more, legislation. This is especially true for the EU. Moreover, Brexit has already caused profound changes to the dynamics of EU financial regulation, and its effects will likely become ever-more significant in the years to come. This book serves as a comprehensive introduction to these developments, and, more generally, to European banking and financial law.

Part of the Oxford EU Financial Regulation Series, this work analyses the implications of the Single Supervisory Mechanism (SSM) and the Single Resolution Mechanism (SRM) for banks in Europe, and the second edition reflects the experience in practice of this regime both economically and legally.

This book provides a comprehensive overview of European Union (EU) central banking law, a field of EU economic law which emerged in the late 1990s and has developed rapidly ever since. European central banking law pertains to the rules governing the functions, operation, tasks and powers of the European Central Bank (ECB) and the national central banks (NCBs) of EU Member States. Systematically presenting and analysing the role of the ECB as a monetary and banking supervisory authority, the book discusses its changing and developing responsibilities following the financial crisis of 2007-2009 and the ongoing fiscal crisis in the euro area.

European Economic Law presents a thoroughgoing legal analysis of the prominence of corporate and business enterprises in what many theorists see as the intrinsic 'internationality' of social activity in the current era. In the course of its intensive discussion, the book brilliantly disentangles the complex interrelations among a vast array of economic factors. Since the last edition of this pre-eminent work five years ago, the European framework in the international setting has substantially changed. Numerous critical developments have highlighted shortcomings in the European structure that seems incapable, in its present complexity, of resolving the apparently intractable problems it confronts.

The Economic and Monetary Union (EMU) constitutes a key pillar of the project of European integration, and the law serves as the infrastructure of the EU's system of economic governance. This comprehensive Research Handbook analyses and explains this complex architecture from a legal point of view and looks ahead to the challenges it faces and how these can be resolved. Bringing together contributions from leading academics from across Europe and top lawyers from several EU institutions, this Research Handbook is the first to cover all aspects of the Eurozone's legal ecosystem, including the fiscal, monetary, banking, and capital markets unions.

The European Banking Union and the Role of Law offers a comprehensive and unique examination of the European Banking Union's (EBU) impact on existing legal disciplines and assesses the role of law in shaping the EBU framework.With expert contributions from academics, practitioners and EU officials, this thought-provoking book provides different perspectives on the Single Supervisory Mechanism (SSM) and the Single Resolution Mechanism (SRM). Evaluating and proposing original interpretations on the EBU at a key stage of its development in the European Union, this book assesses topical issues relating to the institutional and administrative rules of the EBU, the interpretation and application of banking law, supervision and resolution frameworks, judicial rules and protection in the EBU.

This handbook analyses the European Banking Union legal framework focusing on legislative acts (regulations and directives), case law and the resolution procedures. In addition, it will pay attention to the division of responsibilities between the ECB and the national authorities, with special attention to the Single Supervisory Mechanism (SSM) and the Single Resolution Mechanism (SRM). To give a more complete picture, the book will also cover the implementation of European Deposit Insurance Scheme (so called third pillar) still under construction, and appeal to academics, researchers and students of banking and financial law.

Constitutional Change through Euro-Crisis Law contains a comparative constitutional analysis of the impact of a very broad range of euro-crisis law instruments on the EU and national constitutions. It covers contrasting assessments of the impact of euro-crisis law on national parliaments, various types of criticism on the EU economic governance framework, different views on what is needed to improve the multilevel system of economic governance, and valuable insights into the nature of emergency discourse in the legislative arena and of the spillover from the political to the judicial sphere.

The Single Supervisory Mechanism (SSM) will be considered as a significant category in the Eurozone as of November 2014. Thus, the European banking architecture is fundamentally changed and adapted to the requirements of a European banking union.

The financial crisis of 2007 and the following recession present a major challenge to macroeconomic theory. The same holds true for exceptionally low interest rates during the recent years and for the puzzle that super-expansive monetary policies failed to produce high inflation. Approachesthat focus on steady states, rational expectations, and individuals planning over infinite horizons, are not suitable for analysing such abnormal situations. A Study in Monetary Macroeconomics refines and improves mainstream approaches to resolve these puzzles and to contribute to a better understanding of monetary and fiscal policies.

Philipp Harms presents the concepts and methods of modern international macroeconomics in a comprehensive yet accessible way. He motivates the topics discussed with regard to their practical relevance and enables the reader to assess the contributions of theoretical approaches and results. Among the topics covered are the determinants of current accounts and international capital flows, the mechanisms behind the fluctuations of real and nominal exchange rates as well as the scope and limits of economic policy in open economies. Real and monetary phenomena are analyzed within a coherent analytical framework, and the theoretical results are confronted with the available empirical evidence.

Top economists consider how to conduct policy in a world where previous beliefs have been shattered by the recent financial and economic crises. Since 2008, economic policymakers and researchers have occupied a brave new economic world. Previous consensuses have been upended, former assumptions have been cast into doubt, and new approaches have yet to stand the test of time. Policymakers have been forced to improvise and researchers to rethink basic theory. George Akerlof, Nobel Laureate and one of this volume's editors, compares the crisis to a cat stuck in a tree, afraid to move.

Macroeconomics: A European Perspective will give students a fuller understanding of the subject and has been fully updated to provide broad coverage of the ongoing economic turmoil in Europe.

This volume takes a broad perspective on the recent debate on the role of German ordoliberalism in shaping European economic policy before and after the eurozone crisis. It shows how ordoliberal scholars explain the institutional origins of the eurozone crisis, and presents creative policy proposals for the future of the European economy. Ordoliberal discourse both attempts to offer political solutions to socioeconomic challenges, and to find an ideal market order that fosters individual freedom and social cohesion.

This book analyzes the banking crisis and the events surrounding it in Hungary and other emerging EU member countries in 2007-2013. Written by Júlia Király, a former policymaker, and the Deputy Governor of the Hungarian Central Bank at the time of the crisis, it also offers a firsthand account of the processes in and responses to the financial crisis. While there is extensive literature on the crisis, most of it focuses on the US or the Eurozone, sometimes mentioning the "emerging world" in passing. However, Central and Eastern Europe experienced the crisis very differently than other emerging countries.

The promise of the European pursuit of ever closer union created tremendous optimism that conflict was the past and harmony would be the future. The enthusiasm for economic integration and monetary union, through the Euro, enhanced the confidence that differences among countries could be overcome. In this dynamic and incisive overview of the European project from its beginnings, Ashoka Mody convincingly demonstrates that the tensions and flaws of the European project were both baked-in and foreseen from the beginning.

Much has been said and written about the euro crisis: on the causes and the consequence of the collapsing economy, the expensive rescue of banks, the rising debt, the predicted end of the euro, the impending exit of Greece, the ongoing search for the culprits, the disagreement over solutions, and the big consequences for people in the whole euro area. Jeroen Dijsselbloem, President of the Eurogroup, was present at all the discussions and sometimes nights long, looking for solutions. In this particular book, he takes us in the fair, never-before-told story behind the euro crisis.

In September 2008 the Great Financial Crisis, triggered by the collapse of Lehman brothers, shook the world. A decade later its spectre still haunts us. As the appalling scope and scale of the crash was revealed, the financial institutions that had symbolised the West's triumph since the end of the Cold War, seemed - through greed, malice and incompetence - to be about to bring the entire system to its knees.Crashed is a brilliantly original and assured analysis of what happened and how we were rescued from something even worse - but at a price which continues to undermine democracy across Europe and the United States.

The euro area sovereign debt crisis has been the greatest threat to the euro since its inception, but the consequences of the crisis go well beyond the realm of macroeconomics: the crisis has cast doubt on the viability of a mechanism of integration such as the one envisaged in Economic and Monetary Union (EMU), and on the future of the European Union as a political project in the face of citizens' growing disaffection. The various responses to the crisis have not only altered the principles underlying EMU; they have also had a profound impact on the constitutional orders of the EU andits Member States.

The Euro Crisis produced the most significant challenge to European integration in 60 years testing the structures and powers of the European Union and the Eurozone and threatening the common currency. This book explores how the financial and political crisis was portrayed in the European press and the implications of that coverage on public understanding of the developments, their causes, responsibilities for addressing the crisis, the roles and effectiveness of European institutions, and the implications for European integration and identity. It addresses factors that shaped news and analysis, the roles of European leaders, and the extent to which national and pan-European debates over the crisis occurred. In doing so, it provides a clear and readable explanation of what the portrayals tell us about Europe and European integration in the early twenty-first century.

This book explores the background of the eurozone crisis, outlining a number of potential solutions. It attempts to discover if the problems could have been anticipated, and examines how well have the fiscal EMU rules been adhered to and how appropriate they are.

Topical and timely, this book offers an economically informed constitutional analysis on European responses to the crisis. It discusses the longer-term proposals on the table including rescue measures and stability mechanisms, as well as the tightening of European economic governance. The authors see the European constitution as a multidimensional and multi-temporal process of constitutionalisation. They examine how the crisis has catapulted the economic constitution back to the 'pacemaker' position from where it determines developments in the political and social dimensions.

L'euro n'est pas une monnaie spontanée mais l'aboutissement d'un rapport de forces nationales découlant de la réunification allemande. Si les premières années de cette monnaie, introduite en 1999, furent baignées dans un contexte économique favorable, la crise bancaire de 2008 et la banqueroute grecque en dévoilèrent les failles. Plus que jamais, la perpétuation de l'euro repose sur le fragile équilibre de l'axe franco-allemand. Sans sursaut moral et une action politique décisive, un fait politique pourrait conduire à une sécession monétaire ou, pire, déclarer un véritable schisme qui mettrait fin à une des plus stupéfiantes expériences de l'histoire des monnaies. Ce livre, dont le Président Van Rompuy, a commis la contre-préface, transporte un avertissement et un espoir.

How philosophical differences between Eurozone nations led to the Euro crisis--and where to go from here. Why is Europe's great monetary endeavor, the Euro, in trouble? A string of economic difficulties in Greece, Ireland, Spain, Italy, and other Eurozone nations has left observers wondering whether the currency union can survive. In this book, Markus Brunnermeier, Harold James, and Jean-Pierre Landau argue that the core problem with the Euro lies in the philosophical differences between the founding countries of the Eurozone, particularly Germany and France.

This book studies the euro in a global perspective and opens a new series edited by the Jean Monnet European Centre of Excellence of the University of Florence, Verso l'unificazione europea. Most of the chapters have been written by economists who met and discussed their diverse views at a multi-disciplinary conference organized by the Centre in May 2013 under the title The euro and the struggle for the creation of a new global currency: Problems and perspectives in the building of the political, financial and economic foundations of the European federal government.

Who were key figures in the making of European monetary union? Which ideas did they contribute to ensuring that monetary union would be sustainable? How prescient were they in identifying the necessary and sufficient foundations of a sustainable monetary union?This book provides the first systematic historical examination of key architects of European monetary union in the period before its launch in 1999. Using original archival and interview research, it investigates the intellectual and career backgrounds of these architects, their networking skills,and their own doubts and reservations about the way in which monetary union was being constructed.

Pour la première fois, Joseph Stiglitz, prix Nobel d’économie, commet un livre sur la crise européenne et sur les impasses de l’euro comme monnaie unique. Comment en est-on arrivé à consacrer une monnaie conçue pour rapprocher les peuples et amener la prospérité et qui a fini par les diviser et plomber leur économie ? Un constat implacable de l’auteur qui propose également des solutions concrètes pour sortir de l’impasse.

This book provides a wealth of empirical material to understand key aspects of EU governance including its plurality of actors and policy making modes and its functioning during crisis management. Authored by legal scholars and political scientists, it presents new research and insights on the role of EU agencies in the context of the Euro and migration crises.

Leadership of powerful states and organizations is crucial for the success of regional integration projects. This book offers a theoretical model explaining such leadership. By applying the model to eurozone governance and reform, the book combines innovative theorizing on leadership in regional and international affairs with original research on Economic and Monetary Union politics. Six in-depth case studies analyze the (non-)leadership of Germany and EU institutions in eurozone crisis management. Moreover, the book evaluates the eurozone's leadership record since the outbreak of its crisis and helps readers understand the leadership of collective actors, and the extent to which they can contribute to overcoming crisis and fostering European integration.

The Euro-Crisis and the legal and institutional responses to it have had important constitutional implications on the architecture of the European Union (EU). Going beyond the existing literature, Federico Fabbrini's book takes a broad look and examines how the crisis and its aftermath havechanged relations of power in the EU, disaggregating three different dimensions: (1) the vertical relations of power between the member states and the EU institutions, (2) the relations of power between the political branches and the courts, and (3) the horizontal relations of power between the EU member states themselves.

The global financial crisis and sovereign debt crisis exposed the inadequacy of European economic governance. Despite the multitude of new mechanisms and institutions that have arisen over the last few years, many contend that economic governance remains inadequate and the EU must integrate even further to calm still-volatile markets. A tension exists between creating effective instruments that will not overstep the authority delegated to an EU that has integrated economically but not politically.

What is the form of government of the European Union (EU)? And how is the institutional governance of the Eurozone evolving? These questions have become pressing during the last years. On the one hand, the Euro-crisis and the legal and institutional responses to it have had major implications on the constitutional architecture of the EU and the Eurozone. On the other hand, the May 2014 elections for the European Parliament and the ensuing struggle to form the European Commission have brought to the fore new tensions in the EU political system.

Growth is slow in the EU, but growth potentialities remain high, in spite of the exit of the UK and in spite of the COVID-19 pandemic, and we can observe a disparity between reality and potentialities. Does the persistent difference between expected and real benefits mean that the EU integration model is not working? No. It continues to be effective, because it is rule-based. However, these rules are not enough to grasp all the potentialities of integration. We need a better-integrated single European market and a more open trade policy, in the framework of health, security, safety, energy, environment and labour standards, establishing the rules of the competition, but leaving the economic agents free to act.

In contrast to the USA, Europe has struggled to return to the growth path it was on prior to the financial crisis of 2007-11. Not only has the recovery been slow, it has also been variable with Europe's core countries recovering more quickly than those on the periphery. It is widely believed that the best way to address this slow recovery is through structural reform programmes whereby changes in government policy, regulatory frameworks, investment incentives and labour markets are used to encourage more efficient markets and higher economic growth. This book is the first to provide a critical assessment of these reforms, with a new theoretical framework, new data and new empirical methodologies.

This timely and engaging book explores the role of European political entrepreneurship in debating, shaping and implementing the Europe 2020 strategy. Insightful chapters analyse the content, conditions and consequences of Europe 2020, investigating the plan for a future prosperous EU economy. Focussing on how European political entrepreneurship functions in times of crisis, Smart, Sustainable and Inclusive Growth considers these crises as potential windows of opportunity.

What would a fair and equal society actually look like? The world-renowned economist and bestselling author Yanis Varoufakis presents his radical and subversive answer.

FEPS and Nobel Laureate Joseph Stiglitz agreed to work on the European twin publication to Professor Stiglitz’s bestseller “Rewriting the Rules of the American Economy”. In partnership with the Renner Institute and Policy Network, FEPS launched a reflection process with a group of high-level scholars and politicians from all over Europe with the aim of developing proposals for new rules after 10 years of economic, social and political crisis. The ideas expressed during this process served as the basis for the final report that will be presented on March 2019.

Toutes les sociétés humaines ont besoin de justifier leurs inégalités : il faut leur trouver des raisons, faute de quoi c’est l’ensemble de l’édifice politique et social qui menace de s’effondrer. Les idéologies du passé, si on les étudie de près, ne sont à cet égard pas toujours plus folles que celles du présent. C’est en montrant la multiplicité des trajectoires et des bifurcations possibles que l’on peut interroger les fondements de nos propres institutions et envisager les conditions de leur transformation.

From Nobel Prize-winning economist and New York Times bestselling author Robert Shiller, a groundbreaking account of how stories help drive economic events--and why financial panics can spread like epidemic viruses In a world in which internet troll farms attempt to influence foreign elections, can we afford to ignore the power of viral stories to affect economies? In this groundbreaking book, Nobel Prize-winning economist and New York Times bestselling author Robert Shiller offers a new way to think about the economy and economic change.

Raghuram Rajan, distinguished University of Chicago professor, former IMF chief economist, head of India's central bank, and author of the 2010 FT-Goldman-Sachs Book of the Year Fault Lines, has an unparalleled vantage point onto the social and economic consequences of globalization and their ultimate effect on our politics. In The Third Pillar he offers up a magnificent big-picture framework for understanding how these three forces--the state, markets, and our communities--interact, why things begin to break down, and how we can find our way back to a more secure and stable plane.

12 Nobel Laureates take readers on a tour of some of the everyday issues that can be explored using basic economic principles. Topics include how economic tools can be used to rebuild nations in the aftermath of a war; financing retirement as longevity increases and what governments should really be doing to boost the economy.

What are the grand dynamics that drive the accumulation and distribution of capital? Questions about the long-term evolution of inequality, the concentration of wealth, and the prospects for economic growth lie at the heart of political economy. But satisfactory answers have been hard to find for lack of adequate data and clear guiding theories. In Capital in the Twenty-First Century, Thomas Piketty analyzes a unique collection of data from twenty countries, ranging as far back as the eighteenth century, to uncover key economic and social patterns.