LibGuides: Public health: Databases

Selected Databases and News Sources

Agence Europe
Agence Europe provides daily news on European topics.
It is editor of Bulletin Quotidien Europe including subjects such as fisheries, environment, transport, health, EU external action...
EUR-Lex
EUR-Lex is a website which offers easy access to EU law. Available in 24 languages, it includes treaties, legislation, international agreements, preparatory acts, legislative procedures, case law, parliamentary questions and many other types of documents. EUR-Lex also gives access to the Official Journal of the European Union, the official compilation of all EU legal acts.
Eurostat
Eurostat is the Statistical Office of the European Union. Its mission is to provide high quality statistics for Europe.
By harmonising statistics from the European statistical system (ESS) to a single methodology, the statistics are made comparable.
The Global health Observatory
The Global Health Observatory is an initiative of the World Health Organization to share data on global health, including statistics by country and information about specific diseases and health measures.
IMF eLibrary
The International Monetary Fund's (IMF) offers direct access to the IMF’s periodicals, books, working papers and studies, and data and statistical tools. It provides information and perspective on macroeconomics, globalization, development, trade and aid, technical assistance, demographics, emerging markets, policy advice, poverty reduction, and so much more.
OECD Social Issues/Migration/Health iLibrary
OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics and is the knowledge base of OECD's analysis and data.
It includes high-quality publications on Social issues, Migration and Health. It also includes OECD Policy Responses to Coronavirus (COVID-19).
POLITICO PRO
POLITICO PRO, a global nonpartisan politics and policy news organization, launched in Europe in 2015. The General Secretariat of the Council's corporate subscription includes coverage to the following policy areas: Agriculture and Food / Central Banker / Competition and Industrial Policy / Cybersecurity and Data Protection / Defense / Energy and Climate / Financial Services / Health Care / Mobility / Paris Influence / Sustainability / Technology / Trade / Trade UK
PubMed Central (PMC)
PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). In keeping with NLM’s legislative mandate to collect and preserve the biomedical literature, PMC serves as a digital counterpart to NLM’s extensive print journal collection.
PMC was developed and is managed by NLM’s National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI).
Springer Link
SpringerLink is an online collection of over 1,200 peer-reviewed journals and 25 book series published by Springer covering a variety of topics in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
Taylor & Francis Online
Taylor & Francis is one of the world’s largest publishers of open access research. We publish over 180 high-quality full open access journals, ranging across disciplines and subject areas.
Think Tank Review by The Council Library
The Council Library publishes this monthly round-up of EU-related papers released by think tanks across the world. You can search and access the full text of all think tank papers in our catalogue Eureka. They are available in open access and can also be easily accessed by non-Council readers. You can run a search on a particular subject.
United Nations iLibrary
The United Nations iLibrary is the comprehensive global search, discovery, and viewing source for digital content created by the United Nations. 
Wiley Online Library
One of the largest and most authoritative collections of online journals, books, and research resources, covering life, health, social, and physical sciences.

Free resources on SARS-CoV-2 and COVID-19 disease

Coronavirus (COVID-19) Research Highlights
Free access to the latest COVID-19 research papers and articles. Springer Nature is working with global organisations, such as the World Health Organisation and the initiative from the White House Office of Science and Technology to make all relevant global research, and data, immediately available.
Coronavirus disease (COVID-19) pandemic
The WHO dedicated website on coronavirus contains country and technical guidance, questions and answers, situation reports, research and studies, strategy and planning, vaccines and media resources.
Coronavirus Research Database
The Coronavirus Research Database brings together trusted content from journals, preprints, conference proceedings, dissertations and more related to COVID-19 and other coronaviruses. This database brings together not only content from open-access journals, but also pre-prints and additional content being made freely available by major publishers from around the world. This versatile content set is designed to help students, researchers, and health care professionals investigate answers to pressing questions arising in the wake of the pandemic.
COVID-19 Health System Response Monitor
The Health System Response Monitor (HSRM) has been designed in response to the COVID-19 outbreak to collect and organize up-to-date information on how countries are responding to the crisis. It focuses primarily on the responses of health systems but also captures wider public health initiatives. This is a joint undertaking of the WHO Regional Office for Europe, the European Commission, and the European Observatory on Health Systems and Policies.
COVID-19 pandemic
The dedicated website of the European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC) gathers risk assessments, reports, data and visuals.
Covid-19: Novel Coronavirus Outbreak
Wiley is using this site to highlight newly published content – all free of access - related to the current COVID-19 outbreak. From the navigation menu, you will find links to archived content from the past few months, as well as Special Collections compiled by several individual journals and organizations. In addition to this site, Wiley is also making a collection of journal articles and our book chapters on coronavirus research freely available to the global scientific community.
The Lancet : Covid-19 Resource Centre
To assist health workers and researchers working under challenging conditions to bring this outbreak to a close, The Lancet has created a Coronavirus Resource Centre. This resource brings together new 2019 novel coronavirus disease (COVID-19) content from across The Lancet journals as it is published. All of our COVID-19 content is free to access.
NEJM : Coronavirus (Covid-19)
A collection of articles and other resources on the Coronavirus (Covid-19) outbreak, including clinical reports, management guidelines, and commentary.
Novel Coronavirus Information Center
Elsevier’s free health and medical research on the novel coronavirus (SARS-CoV-2) and COVID-19. A compilation of expert, curated information for the research and health community on SARS-CoV-2 (the novel coronavirus) and COVID-19 (the disease). All resources are free to access and include guidelines for clinicians and patients.
Public Health Emergency COVID-19 Initiative
Following the call from the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy and science policy leaders of other nations, the National Library of Medicine (NLM) is collaborating with publishers and scholarly societies to expand access via PubMed Central (PMC) to coronavirus-related publications and associated data. Under this initiative, publishers can voluntarily deposit articles identified as relevant to the COVID-19 pandemic or prior coronavirus research.
Springer : Coronavirus package
In response to the COVID-19 pandemic, Springer have made corona-related research free to access. This content spans across our journals, books, protocols, conference papers, and other content types.