EU relations with Latin America and the Caribbean: Discover more

The Community of Latin American & Caribbean States (CELAC) is an intergovernmental mechanism for dialogue and political agreement, which includes permanently thirty-two countries in Latin America and the Caribbean. It is a regional forum that brings together all of Latin America and the Caribbean countries. Celac aspires to be a unique voice and structured decision-making policy decisions in the political and cooperation in support of regional integration programs. It was created with a commitment to advance the gradual process of regional integration, unity and carefully balancing political, economic, social and cultural diversity of Latin America and the Caribbean of 650 million people.

The EU-LAC Foundation was created in 2010 by the Heads of State and Government of the European Union (EU) and the Community of Latin American and Caribbean States (CELAC) member states. Its Members are the Member states of the EU and CELAC as well as the EU itself. The Foundation is a tool of the EU-LAC partnership and its activities feed into the intergovernmental dialogue, in line with the bi-regional Action Plan. The EU-LAC Foundation was entrusted with the mission of strengthening and promoting the strategic bi-regional relationship, enhancing its visibility and fostering active participation of the respective civil societies.

The Economic Commission for Latin America (ECLA) -the Spanish acronym is CEPAL- was established by Economic and Social Council resolution 106(VI) of 25 February 1948 and began to function that same year. The scope of the Commission's work was later broadened to include the countries of the Caribbean, and by resolution 1984/67 of 27 July 1984, the Economic Council decided to change its name to the Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (ECLAC); the Spanish acronym, CEPAL, remains unchanged.

This huge database contains the main figures of Latin America and the Caribbean.

The Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (ECLAC) and the regional office of the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) have developed, in conjunction with the funds, programmes and specialized agencies of the United Nations system in the region and the Development Coordination Office for Latin America and the Caribbean, an online portal which serves as the Regional Knowledge Platform on the 2030 Agenda in Latin America and the Caribbean.

La Fundación Carolina (FC) se creó por acuerdo del Consejo de Ministros el 22 de septiembre de 2000, con el fin de fomentar las relaciones culturales y la cooperación en materia educativa y científica entre España y los países de la Comunidad Iberoamericana de Naciones y con otros con especiales vínculos históricos, culturales y geográficos. En tanto institución perteneciente al sistema de la cooperación española, el mandato de la FC integró en su horizonte el cumplimiento de los Objetivos de Desarrollo del Milenio (ODM) de Naciones Unidas.

CIDOB analiza los cambios políticos que se desarrollan en la región y sus efectos, tanto en las estrategias de desarrollo y de inserción internacional de los países, como en los equilibrios regionales y su traslación a los organismos de cooperación e integración regional. CIDOB propone también una mirada amplia al Atlántico que analice los principales cambios y continuidades en este espacio desde una perspectiva global.

The main objective of the project is that of “giving focus” to the Cultural, Scientific and Social dimension of EU-CELAC relations.

LatinNews was founded in London in 1967 to provide expert political, economic, and security analysis on Latin America and the Caribbean. LatinNews was acquired by Intelligence Research Ltd in 2003.

Oxford Analytica is an independent, privately held company founded in 1975 to bring timely and authoritative analysis of world developments to business and government leaders, to identify the key political, economic, legal and regulatory factors in complex markets.

The Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) provides forecasting and advisory services through research and analysis; such as country reports. The country reports cover political and economic analysis and forecasts for 189 countries.

Connect, originated from IHS Markit, is a powerful business and market intelligence platform which provides efficient access to an unmatched concentration of industry analysis, in-depth market research and economic forecasts from over 2,000 world renowned experts.

One of the world's leading global business publications. The Financial Times website provides FT articles, in-depth 'Special Reports', facsimile of the newspaper from 2005 onwards, and company and financial information.
See https://consilium-europa.libguides.com/FT

The Latin American Economic Outlook is the OECD Development Centre’s annual analysis of economic and social developments in Latin America in partnership with the Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (UN ECLAC), the Development Bank of Latin America (CAF) and the European Commission (EC). Each edition covers a detailed macro-structural socio-economic overview of the region. It also includes an in-depth look at a special theme related to development in Latin America, taking into account the strategic challenges and opportunities the region will have in the future.

En el Anuario Estadístico de América Latina y el Caribe de la CEPAL se presenta un conjunto de estadísticas básicas que caracterizan la situación económica, sociodemográfica y ambiental de la región referidas a un período en particular. Esta información forma parte del conjunto de estadísticas disponibles en CEPALSTAT, el portal de bases de datos y publicaciones estadísticas de la CEPAL. La presente edición del Anuario contiene datos que se encontraban disponibles hasta mediados de diciembre de 2022.

L'Année politique (anciennement Latin American Political Outlook) (LAPO) est le rapport annuel de l'OPALC publié depuis 2010 dans la collection des Etudes du CERI, sous la direction d'Olivier Dabène. Le rapport fait appel à des chercheurs confirmés et des doctorants. Il se compose chaque année de 4 parties: la première est consacrée à l'actualité de l'année écoulée ("L'Amérique latine dans l'actualité"); la deuxième évoque l'héritage actuel de faits historiques marquants ("L'Amérique latine dans l'histoire"); la troisième analyse les tendances électorales ("L'Amérique latine aux urnes"); enfin la quatrième présente une recherche en cours ("L'Amérique latine en perspectives").

CEPAL Review is a United Nations publication prepared under the editorial responsibility of the Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (ECLAC). The sole objective of this open access journal is to disseminate academic papers.

The Bulletin of Latin American Research (BLAR) publishes original research of current interest on Latin America, the Caribbean, inter-American relations and the Latin American Diaspora from all academic disciplines within the Social Sciences and Humanities. BLAR publishes individual original research articles, or Special Issues co-ordinated by a Guest Editor

Journal of Latin American Studies presents recent research in the field of Latin American studies in development studies, economics, geography, history, politics and international relations, public policy, sociology and social anthropology. Regular features include articles on contemporary themes, short thematic commentaries on key issues, and an extensive section of book reviews.

Amérique Latine : Politique, Sociétés, Histoire est une revue pluridisciplinaire à visée internationale sur l'Amérique latine.

Problèmes d'Amérique latine est la principale revue en langue française sur les évolutions politiques, économiques et culturelles contemporaines de l'Amérique latine.

Les Cahiers des Amériques latines sont une publication de référence dans le paysage latino-américaniste international depuis la fin des années 1960. Ouverte à toutes les sciences humaines et sociales, la revue constitue un support de transmission des savoirs universitaires, mais aussi un espace de réflexion et de débat sur l’actualité latino-américaine.

AMÉRICA LATINA HOY (ALH) es una revista de Ciencias Sociales fundada en 1991 especializada en estudios de área, publicada por el Instituto de Iberoamérica y Ediciones de la Universidad de Salamanca. Está dedicada al análisis de latinoamericana en sus aspectos políticos, sociales, históricos, culturales o económicos.

IBEROAMERICANA. América Latina - España - Portugal es una revista interdisciplinaria dedicada al análisis de la historia, la literatura, la vida cultural y las dinámicas socio-políticas de América Latina, el Caribe, España y Portugal, que busca servir de puente entre las investigaciones realizadas en distintos ámbitos académicos y regionales.

¿Está investigando un tema en particular pero no sabe qué materiales están disponibles? Nuestras guías de investigación son un buen lugar para comenzar! El equipo de bibliotecarios de la CEPAL con el apoyo de las divisiones sustantivas de la CEPAL han creado un conjunto de portales temáticos, orientados a la investigación, que reunen una variedad de recursos de información, sobre un tema de relevancia para el trabajo de la Comisión.

Eureka is the Council Library's discovery service.