LibGuides: The energy crisis: Discover more

Data and statistics

Shedding light on energy 2023: interactive publication by Eurostat
Publication Date: 2023

This interactive publication presents information about the energy sector in a user-friendly way and features short texts and dynamic infographics. Where does our energy come from? How dependent are we on energy imports? Which kind of energy do we consume in the EU and how much does it cost? Are we efficient in the consumption of energy? How much greenhouse gas do we emit in the EU? Answers to these questions and many more can be found in the updated 2023 edition of Eurostat's interactive publication Shedding light on energy in the EU.
National fiscal policy responses to the energy crisis by Giovanni Sgaravatti, Simone Tagliapietra and Georg Zachmann; Bruegel
The current increase in wholesale energy prices in Europe has prompted governments to put in place measures to shield consumers from the direct impact of rising prices. The purpose of this dataset is to track and give a (non-exhaustive) overview of the different policies used by countries at national level to mitigate the effect of the price spike for consumers.
This dataset will be updated regularly. The authors thank Antonio Ferrara for his research assistance in compiling the methodological note and the data used in the figure.
National energy policy responses to the energy crisis by Giovanni Sgaravatti, Simone Tagliapietra and Cecilia Trasi; Bruegel
This dataset is part of Bruegel’s work on how European Union governments and the United Kingdom have responded to the ongoing energy crisis. It has been compiled alongside the Bruegel dataset on National fiscal policy responses to the energy crisis.
European natural gas imports by Georg Zachmann; Giovanni Sgaravatti and Benjamin McWilliams; Bruegel
This dataset aggregates daily data on European natural gas import flows and storage levels.
European natural gas demand tracker by Bruegel
This dataset tracks monthly natural gas demand by EU country, with a breakdown of the power, industry and household sectors wherever possible. Because there isn’t a timely and comprehensive data source covering all of the EU, this dataset is built by compiling data from a range of sources. A technical annex explains this methodology.
European power price tracker by Ember
This tool contains wholesale day-ahead electricity prices for European countries, sourced from ENTSO-e. These are the prices paid to electricity generators, and are not necessarily the same as the costs to end users.
Shedding light on energy in the EU by Eurostat
Publication Date: 2022

Shedding light on energy in the EU is an interactive publication released by Eurostat, the statistical office of the European Union.
Date of data extraction: April 2022 for text. Data in the visualisations are generally linked directly to the online database to the reference year mentioned in the text. The Sankey diagram and other energy interactive tools are continuously updated.
Interactive energy data by Eurostat
Publication Date: 2022

Eurostat's portal to interactive energy visualisation tools.
EU energy in figures : Statistical pocketbook 2023 by European Commission, Directorate-General for Energy
Publication Date: 2023

The energy sector is one of the pillars of growth, competitiveness and development for modern economies. To keep up with the ongoing transformation of the energy sector in Europe, we need data that is accurate and up-to-date. This publication provides an overview of the most relevant annual energy-related statistics for the European Union as a whole and for each of its Member States. The data contained in this pocketbook is drawn from several sources: Eurostat and other European Commission’s services, the European Environment Agency, the International Energy Agency.

International Energy Agency (IEA)

How to avoid gas shortages in the European Union in 2023 : a practical set of actions to close a potential supply-demand gap by IEA
Publication Date: December 2022

European and global natural gas markets are not yet out of the danger created by Russia’s cuts to pipeline deliveries of gas. Conditions have been turbulent, prices have been extremely volatile, many households and gas-intensive sectors have suffered – as have many gas-importing countries worldwide. Overall gas demand in the European Union (EU) is set to fall by around 10% in 2022, a drop of around 50 billion cubic metres (bcm). Some 10 bcm of this drop is due to curtailed production rather than efficiency gains or fuel switching. But the situation could be worse: European Union and national policies, markets, consumer actions, non-Russian suppliers and mild weather have all played a part in compensating for the missing Russian deliveries. As of early December, Europe’s gas storage levels remain above their five-year average.
Never Too Early to Prepare for Next Winter : Europe’s gas balance for 2023-2024 by IEA
Publication Date: November 2022

Amid the ongoing global energy crisis, this report examines the latest developments in European natural gas and electricity markets, and in global LNG markets – assessing their implications for Europe’s gas balance in 2023 and 2024.
Based on detailed analysis of global data and market trends, this new IEA report cautions that the process of filling European gas storage sites in 2022 benefitted from key factors – including Russian pipeline flows during the summer and lower LNG imports by China – that may well not be repeated in 2023. This raises the risk of a supply-demand gap of as much as 30 billion cubic metres (bcm) during the key summer period for refilling gas storage in 2023.
World Energy Outlook 2022 by IEA
Publication Date: October 2022

With the world in the midst of the first global energy crisis – triggered by Russia's invasion of Ukraine – the World Energy Outlook 2022 (WEO) provides indispensable analysis and insights on the implications of this profound and ongoing shock to energy systems across the globe. Based on the latest energy data and market developments, this year’s WEO explores key questions about the crisis: Will it be a setback for clean energy transitions or a catalyst for greater action? How might government responses shape energy markets? Which energy security risks lie ahead on the path to net zero emissions?
Gas Market Report, Q4-2022 - Including Global Gas Security Review 2022 by IEA
Publication Date: October 2022

This year’s winter gas season opens with extreme natural gas price levels and volatility, caused by unprecedented uncertainty of supply as Russia steeply curtails its pipeline deliveries to Europe. The result is considerable market tension in alternative sources of supply. Security of supply has become a top priority in Europe and other importing regions as a total cut-off in Russian flows to Europe cannot be ruled out, creating further tensions and demand destruction for all competing LNG importers.

ACER (The European Union Agency for the Cooperation of Energy Regulators)

Demand response and other distributed energy resources: what barriers are holding them back? 2023 market monitoring report by ACER
Publication Date: December 2023

This ACER report highlights the key potential of consumers as providers of much-needed flexibility in the European Union (EU) power system. It identifies key barriers to the participation of distributed energy resources (i.e., demand response, energy storage, and distributed generation) in the wholesale electricity markets and system operation services in the EU-27 Member States plus Norway in 2022, and it presents key findings and specific recommendations per country.
ACER’s final assessment of the EU wholesale electricity market design
Publication Date: April 2022

In its ‘Toolbox’ Communication of October 2021, the European Commission tasked ACER with assessing the benefits and the drawbacks of the EU’s current wholesale electricity market design and with providing recommendations for its improvement. This report seeks to deliver on that mandate. While the analysis focused on the long-term perspective, the assessment also discussed short-term measures to tackle current price shocks.
Annual report on the results of monitoring the internal electricity and natural gas markets in 2021 : Gas wholesale markets volume by ACER/CEER
Publication Date: July 2022

The Agency for the Cooperation of Energy Regulators (ACER) and the Council of European Energy Regulators (CEER) are publishing the eleventh edition of the annual Market Monitoring Report (MMR), produced in cooperation with the Energy Community (EnC) Secretariat. The MMR consists of several Volumes that cover different EU energy market segments. This Volume provides an overview of the status of the European Gas Wholesale markets in 2021 and the first half of 2022.

European networks and associations

ENTSO-E
ENTSO-E, the European Network of Transmission System Operators for Electricity, is the association for the cooperation of the European transmission system operators (TSOs).
ENTSO-E seasonal outlooks
Special reports, summer and winter reviews, country analysis and data.
ENTSO-G
The role of the European Network of Transmission System Operators for Gas (ENTSOG) is to facilitate and enhance cooperation between national gas transmission system operators (TSOs) across Europe, to ensure the development of a pan-European transmission system in line with European Union energy and climate goals.
ENTSO-G Outlooks & Reviews
The aim of the Summer/Winter Supply Outlooks and Reviews is to give an overview of the ability of the European network and potential gas supply to meet market demand.
Gas Infrastructure Europe
Aiming to enhance the establishment of a fair and sustainable energy landscape, GIE supports the European institutions and governments in implementing the repowering EU plan.
Eurogas
Eurogas accelerates the transition to climate neutrality through dialogue and advocacy on optimising the use of gases.

Information Platforms (restricted access)

Contexte Energie
Contexte est une source d'information quotidienne francophone qui analyse de manière experte les politiques publiques françaises et européennes. Elle est structurée en pôles thématique.
IHS Connect
Information and analysis on global economics and country risks, including in-depth analysis and forecasts for around 200 countries.
Oxford Analytica
Oxford Analytica is an independent, privately held company founded in 1975 to bring timely and authoritative analysis of world developments to business and government leaders, to identify the key political, economic, legal and regulatory factors in complex markets.
Economist Intelligence Unit : country reports.
The Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) provides forecasting and advisory services through research and analysis; such as country reports. The country reports cover political and economic analysis and forecasts for 189 countries.
POLITICO PRO
POLITICO PRO is a global nonpartisan politics and policy news organization, launched in Europe in 2015. The General Secretariat of the Council's corporate subscription includes coverage to the Pro Energy and Climate policy area.
Media Monitoring : Energy Update by General Secretariat of the Council
An internal weekly report on the latest developments on energy, issued every Thursday.