Counter-Terrorism: Books

After the death of Osama Bin Laden and the demise of Al Qaeda, the EU is increasingly threatened by new jihadi terrorist groups such as ISIS, as exemplified by recent terror attacks on Paris, Brussels, Nice, Berlin and Manchester. This book investigates the role of the EU in dealing with such groups as part of its counter-terrorism efforts, by outlining the increasing role of the EU as an external counter-terrorism actor.

This book explores the development of transatlantic policy on international terrorism and assesses the situation today. It takes an interdisciplinary approach to terrorism and transatlantic relations, bringing together experts from contemporary history, political science, military strategy, psychology, law and security.

he Handbooks of Homeland Security Handbook is a convenient, one-stop reference and guide to the latest regulations and developments in all things relevant to the homeland security and defense domain. The book is divided into five parts and addresses such critical areas of as countering terrorism, critical infrastructure protection, information and cybersecurity, military and private sector support for Homeland Security, risk assessment, and preparedness for all-hazards and evolving threats. In total, more than 100 chapters outline the latest developments in homeland security policies, directives, and mandates as well as emergent threats and topical considerations for the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) and its stake-holders.

Theories of Terrorism explains and advances the major theories of terrorism that address issues of becoming a terrorist, being a terrorist, and leaving terrorism, in a clear and accessible format for use by students and academics seeking to advance theoretically driven research in the area. Readers will gain an understanding of the most promising explanations of terrorism that have been developed to date and how they can be used to explore core substantive issues related to the topic.

Brings together leading counterterrorism experts, from academia and practice, to form an interdisciplinary assessment of the terrorist threat facing the United Kingdom and the European Union, focusing on how terrorists and terrorist organisations communicate in the digital age.

Understanding Suicide Terrorism aims to explore the different aspects involved in suicide terrorism for a better understanding of the tactic which has become a global phenomenon and threat today. The book aims to help inform holistic policy making by tracing the evolution of the use of suicide as a weapon in conflict and the emergence of modern-day suicide terrorism.

This new Handbook provides a comprehensive, state-of-the-art overview of current knowledge and debates on terrorism and counterterrorism, as well as providing a benchmark for future research. response to the dramatic rise of terrorism, within the public eye and the academic world, the need for an accessible and comprehensive overview of these controversial issues remains profound. The Routledge Handbook of Terrorism and Counterterrorism seeks to fulfil this need. It will be of great interest to all students of terrorism and counterterrorism, political violence, counter-insurgency, criminology, war and conflict studies, security studies and IR more generally.

The European Union is a major actor in contemporary counter-terrorism, including through its development of counter-terrorism laws for application within the Union. This book undertakes a multi-disciplinary and empirically informed analysis of the impact, legitimacy and effectiveness of EU counter-terrorism.

This perceptive analysis examines the effect of the EU on Turkish counter-terrorism polices towards the Kurdistan Workers Party (PKK) and the Islamic State (ISIL), and aims to investigate the extent to which the EU has developed the capacity to play a role in Turkish counter-terrorism policy through promoting democratisation.

The Palgrave Handbook of Global Counterterrorism Policy examines a comprehensive range of counterterrorism policies, strategies, and practices across dozens of states and actors around the world. It covers the topics of terrorism and counterterrorism both thematically and by region.

This historical analysis covers both EU-internal and international counterterrorism policies and features an in-depth account of the EU’s reaction to the terrorist incidents in New York, Madrid and London. In the first few weeks after these incidents, the EU mobilised a complex but also incoherent set of policy measures, which significantly influenced the course of European security over the years.

Les armes pour lutter contre le terrorisme ne sont pas seulement la guerre, la police ou la procédure. Ils résident aussi dans notre capacité à résister et à cultiver une vertu démocratique: la sérénité, qui n'a pas les mêmes implications pour les institutions et pour les individus.

This book critically discusses the role of technology for counter-terrorism in general, and for securing our vulnerable open societies in particular.

Cet ouvrage aborde la politique publique européenne de lutte contre le terrorisme et présente l'action de l'Union européenne dans l'appui des différents Etats membres. Elle revient sur le contexte de l'adoption d'une stratégie de lutte contre le terrorisme en 2005 et sur l'engagement de l'Union européenne en matière de défense, de sécurité, de répression ou encore de prévention.

This book provides a detailed exploration of the impact of counter-terrorism measures on the penal trajectories of three EU countries: the UK, France and Poland. Through detailed, empirical and theoretically-informed analysis, it explores the synergistic relationship between counter-terrorism measures and control-measures aimed at ‘ordinary’ crimes, in order to map the process of “contagion”.

The Routledge Handbook of Terrorism Research will be an essential work of reference for students and researchers of terrorism and political violence, security studies, criminology, political science and international relations, and of great interest to policymakers and professionals in the field of counter-terrorism.

Bruce Hoffman's Inside Terrorism has remained a seminal work for understanding the historical evolution of terrorism and the terrorist mindset. In this revised edition of the classic text, Hoffman analyzes the new adversaries, motivations, and tactics of global terrorism that have emerged in recent years, focusing specifically on how al Qaeda has changed since 9/11; the reasons behind its resiliency, resonance, and longevity; and its successful use of the Internet and videotapes to build public support and gain new recruits.

Over the past decade, numerous states have declared cyberspace as a new domain of warfare, sought to develop a military cyber strategy and establish a cyber command. These developments have led to much policy talk and concern about the future of warfare as well as the digital vulnerability of society. No Shortcuts provides a level-headed view of where we are in the militarization of cyberspace. In this book, Max Smeets bridges the divide between technology and policy to assess the necessary building blocks for states to develop a military cyber capacity.

A timely and chilling warning about America's vulnerability in a terrifying new international conflict--Cyber War! Offering an insider's view of White House 'Situation Room' operations and carries the reader to the frontlines of cyber defense. Cyber War exposes a virulent threat to our nation's security.

No single nation, culture or religion can achieve peace and security at home while ignoring the terrorist threats posed to others globally.This book presents lectures and a keynote speech delivered as part of the NATO Advanced Training Course (ATC) Countering ISIS Radicalisation. Among the authors are well-known academics and security professionals with internationally proven expertise in their areas of work, and the book will be of interest to all those working in the field of counter-terrorism.

The world has been sleep-walking into cyber chaos. The spread of misinformation via social media and the theft of data and intellectual property, along with regular cyberattacks, threaten the fabric of modern societies. All the while, the Internet of Things increases the vulnerability of computer systems, including those controlling critical infrastructure. What can be done to tackle these problems?

This book develops a conceptual approach to understanding the face of contemporary terrorism as manifested in the recent attacks in Mumbai and Paris. By analyzing the historical evolution of terrorism and by offering case studies on different forms of terrorism in South Asia and elsewhere, the authors shed new light on the political strategies behind terrorist attacks, as well as on the motivations of terrorists.

Europe is still facing an increase in terrorist plotting. This has led to growing security concerns over the fallout of the Syrian conflict, and the sizeable contingents of battle-hardened European foreign fighters, who are seeking to return home.This book provides a comprehensive account of the rise of jihadist militancy in Europe and offers a detailed background for understanding the current and future threat.

Pour la première fois, une enquête révèle le fonctionnement de ces services spéciaux qui depuis Raqqa pilotaient les attentats du 13-Novembre, leurs techniques, leurs ressources, ainsi que le parcours du Français qui en fut la tête pensante. Un travail d’investigation colossal, qui s’appuie sur plus de 77 000 procès-verbaux de police et de justice, des centaines de notes des services secrets et sur une quarantaine d’entretiens conduits auprès de magistrats, d’officiers de renseignement, de victimes du terrorisme, de djihadistes et de leurs familles.

In 2006, the United Nations urged Member States to ensure that counter terrorism policies guaranteed respect for human rights and the rule of law. This book demonstrates that, in many cases, counter terrorism policies relating to preventive detention, targeted killing and measures relating to returning foreign terrorist fighters have failed to respect human rights, and this encourages vulnerable people to be drawn towards supporting or committing acts of terrorism.

Offers unique comparative perspective of counter-terrorism legislation in different states, including UK, Europe and North America. Accessible enough to be used at both undergraduate and postgraduate levels. Reflection points and further reading make it the perfect springboard for further study in this evolving area. The new edition offers increased coverage of issues around returning foreign fighters, links to organized crime, and electronic surveillance.

This edited collection addresses a number of free speech vs security concerns that are engaged by counter-terrorism law and policy makers across a number of liberal democracies, and explores the delicate balance between free speech and the censoring of views that promote hatred or clash with fundamental democratic values.

allinn Manual 2.0' expands on the highly influential first edition by extending its coverage of the international law governing cyber warfare to peacetime legal regimes. The product of a four-year follow-on project by a new group of 19 renowned international law experts, it addresses such topics as sovereignty, State responsibility, human rights, and the law of air, space, and the sea.

The articles and essays in this volume consider the problem of international terrorism from an international legal perspective. The articles address a range of issues starting with the dilemma of how to reach agreement on what constitutes terrorism and how to encapsulate this in a legitimate definition. The essays move on to examine the varied responses to terrorism by states and international organisations.

EU Counter-Terrorism Law- Pre-emption and the Rule of Law is a detailed study of EU action to combat terrorism since 11 September 2001 and the implications that action has had for the EU legal order. It critically examines EU counter-terrorism measures to ascertain how rule of law principles have been affected in the 'war on terror'. The book opens with a critical examination of the rule of law in the EU legal order. It then provides an overview of the war on terror before analysing five key facets of EU counter-terrorism.

Bringing together a number of themes related to terrorism and security from a uniquely legal perspective, this book builds a comparative picture of the legal counter-terrorism interventions states are adopting to increase co-operation and adopt a more united approach in the face of the international terrorism threat.

Pilier de la construction européenne, la coopération entre États membres prend une dimension particulière lorsqu'il s'agit de garantir aux citoyens européens un espace de liberté, de sécurité et de justice. Cet objectif n'est certes pas nouveau, mais la montée du radicalisme, le 11 septembre 2001 et les attentats perpétrés sur le sol européen ont donné un sens particulier à cet objectif.

The advent of cyberspace has led to a dramatic increase in state-sponsored political and economic espionage. This monograph argues that these practices represent a threat to the maintenance of international peace and security and assesses the extent to which international law regulates this conduct.