LibGuides: Counter-Terrorism: Discover more

Resources

United Nations Global Counter-Terrorism Strategy
The United Nations Global Counter-Terrorism Strategy is a unique global instrument to enhance national, regional and international efforts to counter terrorism. The Strategy reaffirms that Member States have the primary responsibility to implement the United Nations Global Counter-Terrorism Strategy and in preventing and countering terrorism and violent extremism conducive to terrorism.
United Nations Office of Counter-Terrorism
Across the globe, the United Nations Office of Counter-Terrorism (UNOCT) leads and coordinates an all-of-UN approach to prevent and counter terrorism and violent extremism. Contains useful links, media, publications and news.
International Legal Instruments
Since 1963, the international community has elaborated 19 international legal instruments to prevent terrorist acts. Those instruments were developed under the auspices of the United Nations and the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA), and are open to participation by all Member States. Here is a summary of the 19 universal legal instruments and additional amendments dealing with terrorism.

Ebook Central

Ebook Central by ProQuest
Ebook Central is a collection of scholarly eBooks from leading publishers. It covers the arts, business, education, health & medicine, history, law, literature & language, religion & philosophy, science & technology and the social sciences.

The Council library manages licences in order to provide direct access to as many ebooks as possible.
You can easily find the links to our ebooks by consulting Eureka.
You will recognise them when you see this:

This way the library makes it easy for you to discover the titles of this collection. In addition, on the Ebook Central platform, you can request access to selected ebooks via a built-in form. We now use a single sign-on authentication service called OpenAthens® that enables access to subscription-based electronic resources both inside and outside the GSC network.

For more information, please consult the Library Guide : "Ebooks: How to & tips" or Contact the Council Library.

Eureka

Eureka
Eureka is the Council Library's discovery service.

Eureka is the main information point about resources and services from the Council Library, there you can:

Search and browse the library's collections, not only books and journals but also databases, book chapters, articles, references... physical and online.
Reserve books and renew your loans
Save searches, set alerts, save your favourites...

Please visit this Library guide to know more about how to use Eureka

Politico

POLITICO PRO
POLITICO PRO, a global nonpartisan politics and policy news organization, launched in Europe in 2015. The General Secretariat of the Council's corporate subscription includes coverage to all policy areas: Pro Agriculture & Food, Brexit Transition, Competition & Industrial Policy Pro, Cybersecurity & Data Protection Pro, Pro Energy & Climate, Pro Financial Services, Pro Health Care, Pro Mobility, Sustainability Pro, Pro Technology, Pro Trade, Pro Trade UK.

Create your account for Politico PRO to access all the functionalities like the dashboard for analysis or the newsletter EU Influence

Check Politico's Help Center for tutorials and videos on how to get the most when being a PRO user.

Search tips

Possible Search Terms:

Terrorism
Counter-terrorism
National security
War on Terrorism
State-sponsored terrorism
Islamic fundamentalism
Political violence
Victims of terrorism
Weapons of mass destruction
Jihad
Bioterrorism