Law: Books

European Union law draws together a range of perspectives from experienced academics, teachers and practitioners to provide a comprehensive introduction. Each chapter has been written and updated by an expert in the field to provide students with access to a broad range of ideas while offering a solid foundation in the institutional and substantive law of the EU.

Alors que l'Union européenne est confrontée à de multiples crises (crise des valeurs, crises liées à la pandémie) , cet ouvrage offre un aperçu clair et synthétique du droit et des politiques européens.

Succinct and clear commentary sets out the law, illuminates the accompanying materials, and delivers critical and contextual analysis of all the legal and political aspects of EU law and policy. The eighth edition has been updated to include expanded discussions of key topics.

Trusted by students and lecturers for over thirty years, Steiner & Woods EU law is the most comprehensive black letter guide to the subject, leading the reader through the subject in a straightforward way, and bringing together the expertise of two authors engaged in the teaching of EU law. The book includes a well-balanced range of topics for students taking an EU law course at any level.

With dedicated new chapters on climate change, data protection, free movement of capital, and the EU's relations with other European States, topics such as the Union's response to covid-19 and the Ukraine crisis are addressed in detail. As with previous editions, the new edition integrates case law, legislation, academic materials and wider policy contributions.

Schütze's 'European Union law' uses a distinctive three-part structure to examine the constitutional foundations, legal powers, and substantive law of the European Union.

Das Lehrbuch "Europarecht" wendet sich sowohl an den Studenten mit dem Pflichtfach Europarecht als auch an den Wahlpflichtkandidaten, ist aber auch fur den juristischen Praktiker geeignet, da es einen schnellen Zugang zur Materie ermoglicht. Die Neuauflage ist grundlich uberarbeitet und auf dem neuesten Stand der Rechtsprechung.

Written by a team of experts, practitioners and scholars, this book invites national institutions to apply its teachings in the context of their own drafting manuals and laws. Analysis focuses on general principles and best practice within the context of the different systems of government in Europe. Questions explored include subsidiarity, legitimacy, efficacy, effectiveness, efficiency, proportionality, monitoring and regulatory impact assessment.

Collection of native analyses of the status of legislation in 30 European jurisdictions plus the EU.

Ce manuel comporte l'étude du droit institutionnel de l'Union européenne tel qu'il se présente 5 ans après l'entrée en vigueur du traité de Lisbonne. L'ensemble des dispositions relatives à l'Union, à ses institutions, au processus décisionnel, à l'ordre juridique ainsi qu'au contrôle politique et juridictionnel sont traitées de manière complète.

This three-volume study aims to provide an authoritative academic treatment of European Union law. Written by leading scholars and practitioners, each chapter offers a comprehensive and critical assessment of the state of the law. Doctrinal in presentation, each volume nonetheless tries to present a broader historical and comparative perspective. Volume I provides an analysis of the constitutional principles governing the European Union.

This title is a comprehensive textbook of EU constitutional law, setting out the structure, values, procedures, and policies of the European Union. The first part addresses the formation history of the European Union, the treaties, the accessions, and the withdrawal of the United Kingdom. The second part covers the competences of the European Union. The third part addresses the role and workings of the various institutions, the position of the Member States of the Union, and various other institutional matters. Part four explores the various decision-making processes. The fifth part looks at the legal instruments and the position of EU law in the EU and national legal orders. The final part sets out the complete and coherent system of judicial protection in the European Union.

An introductory chapter provides valuable context on the governance of the internal market, its evolution, and the theories behind its key principles. Each of the freedoms is then dealt with in turn, covering goods, persons, services, and capital, before moving on to discuss harmonization, the regulation of the internal market, and its future.

Vous trouverez dans cet ouvrage toutes les réponses à vos questions sur: le cadre constitutionnel de l'Union européenne, les caractéristiques fondamentales - l'organisation constitutionnelle - le système des compétences, l'ordre juridique de l'Union européenne, les sources du droit de l'Union européenne - le juge de l'Union européenne - la primauté du droit de l'Union européenne

The third edition of EU administrative law provides comprehensive coverage of the administrative system in the EU and the principles of judicial review that apply in this area. This revised edition provides important updates on each area covered, including new case law; institutional developments; and EU legislation. These changes are located within the framework of broader developments in the EU.

This is a systematic account in 22 chapters of the powers and procedures of the Council of the European Union - the Council of Ministers. The book has been edited and written by a team of senior officials from the Council and other institutions.

This publication in English contains detailed explanations, article by article, on all the provisions of the TEU as well as on several Protocols and Declarations, including the Protocols No 1, 2 and 30 and Declaration No 17, having steady regard to the application of Union law in the national legal orders and its interpretation by the Court of Justice of the EU.

Following on from the Commentary on the Treaty of the European Union, this book presents detailed explanations, article by article, of all the provisions of the TFEU, discussing the application of Union law in the national legal orders and its interpretation by the Court of Justice of the EU. Reflecting the various approaches to European legal culture, this book promotes a system concept of European Union law toward more unity notwithstanding its rich diversity grounded in national traditions.

This Commentary provides an article-by-article summary of the TEU, the TFEU, and the Charter of Fundamental Rights, offering a quick reference to the provisions of the Treaties and how they are interpreted and applied in practice. Written by a team of contributors drawn from the Legal Service of the European Commission and academia.

This commentary on the Charter, written by experts from several EU Member States, provides an authoritative but succinct statement of how the Charter impacts upon EU, domestic and international law. Following the conventional article-by-article approach, each commentator offers an expert view of how each article is either already being interpreted in the courts, or is likely to be interpreted. Each commentary is referenced to the case law and is augmented with extensive references to further reading.

This is the new English edition of a Commentary on the basic European Treaties which has already been very successfully published in five earlier editions in German. It comprises concise article-by-article commentaries on the most recent versions of the Treaty on European Union and the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union, supplemented by the Charter of Fundamental Rights (including the comments of the European Convention's Presidency) and the Treaty Protocols.

Der Kommentar von Schwarze zum EU-Recht erlautert die komplexen Regelungen der europaischen Vertrage auf hochstem Kommentarniveau. Das Standardwerk stellt die Normen in den Kontext ihrer durch vielfaltige Kompromisse gepragten Entstehungsgeschichte, ist exakt in der Einzelargumentation und vereint hohe wissenschaftliche Prazision mit den Bedurfnissen der juristischen Praxis. Kommentiert werden der Vertrag uber die Europaische Union (EUV), der Vertrag uber die Arbeitsweise der Europaischen Union (AEUV), die Grundrechtecharta (GRC). Die Verfahrensordnung der Unionsgerichte und die Hinweise des Gerichtshofs fur Prozessvertreter werden ebenfalls behandelt.

Issu de la collaboration d’universitaires et de praticiens, ce Commentaire retrace, article par article, l’évolution des traités sur l’Union européenne et la Communauté européenne depuis 1957. Il expose, dans une vision à la fois historique et tournée vers l’avenir, les grandes étapes de l’évolution de l’organisation, passée de Communauté à Union, et présente les changements opérés par le traité de Lisbonne.

This book provides a rigorously structured analysis of the system of judicial protection in the European Union and the procedure before the Union Courts. It examines the various types of proceedings which may be brought before the Union Courts, such as the actions for infringement, annulment, failure to act, and damages, along with special forms of procedure involving, for example, interim relief, appeals, staff cases, and intellectual property rights. It also addresses the relationship between the Court of Justice and the national courts through the preliminary ruling procedure and the interplay between European Union law and the national procedural and remedial frameworks more generally.

When the European Court of Justice and the Court of First Instance drafts its own procedural rules, and when it makes decisions on procedural matters, it turns to the highly regarded Lasok's European Court Practice and Procedure for confirmation and guidance. Fully revised and updated the fourth edition: 1. Explains the implications of Brexit and the residual jurisdiction of the ECJ in relation to the UK under the Withdrawal Agreement. 2. Takes account of and provide in-depth analysis of all case law since the previous edition. 3. Provides guidance on the new General Court Rules of Procedure. 4. Provides new commentary on the Judges and Advocates General caused by Brexit and the current ongoing litigation concerning Advocate General Sharpston. 5. Includes additional commentary on the confidentiality regime for cases raising security concerns.

This work gives a detailed and practice-oriented overview of the whole spectrum of litigation procedure before the EU judiciary. It also presents the entire system of judicial avenues that enable litigants to enforce their rights under EU law against European institutions, Member States or private parties.

Le présent ouvrage décrit l’architecture juridictionnelle de l’Union européenne et analyse en profondeur tous les types de recours qui peuvent être introduits devant les trois juridictions qui composent la Cour de justice de l’Union européenne (la Cour de justice, le Tribunal et le Tribunal de la fonction publique), sans oublier le rôle important du juge national dans l’application quotidienne du droit de l’Union européenne.

Cet ouvrage répond à la conviction qu'il n'est plus possible pour un juriste français de ce début du XXIe siècle de ne pas avoir une connaissance précise des procédures devant les juridictions de l'Union européenne et devant la Cour européenne des droits de l'homme. Ce Master « Procédures devant les juridictions de l'Union européenne et devant la CEDH » est, à ce jour, l'unique ouvrage à couvrir en même temps ces deux branches du droit processuel. Il intègre tant les modifications opérées par le Traité de Lisbonne pour ce qui concerne les juridictions de l'Union européenne que celles entraînées sur la procédure devant la CEDH par les protocoles nos 15 et 16.

This commentary provides for a comprehensive overview of the procedural rules of the EU Courts in Luxembourg. It discusses European procedural rules, article by article, taking due account of the established case-law of the Court, thus enabling the reader to navigate quickly and easily through the complex rules of procedure and to orientate him or herself quickly in cases brought before the EU Courts. The Commentary also covers the important "Instructions" and "Practical Guidelines" of the Court.

This volume examines the legal foundations of the EU's external relations. It focuses on the EU's external competences and objectives; on the instruments, principles, and actors of external policies; and on the legal effects of international agreements and international law. It analyses a number of key external policies, particularly in the fields of trade and foreign policy.

The third edition of this book incorporates more than 10 years of fascinating dynamics since the entry into force of the Lisbon Treaty. Apart from analysing the general basis of the Union's external action and its relationship to international law, the book explores the law and practice of the EU in more specialized fields of external action, such as common commercial policy, neighbourhood policy, development cooperation, cooperation with third countries, humanitarian aid, external environmental policy, and common foreign and security policy, as well as EU sanctions.

The European Union has established relationships with other international organizations and institutions, mainly as a result of its increasingly active role as a global actor and the transfer of competences from the Member States to the EU. Containing chapters by leading scholars, this Research handbook presents a comprehensive and critical assessment of these relationships, examining both the EU's representation and cooperation as well as the influence of these external bodies on the development of EU law and policy.

Le présent volume est consacré aux accords internationaux de l’Union et aborde des thèmes qui traversent les divers domaines des relations extérieures de l’Union : les compétences externes, la procédure de conclusion des accords internationaux, les accords d’association et les accords mixtes.

Updated to take into account the Lisbon Treaty and recent case law, the book covers all constitutional aspects of the EU's international action and the procedures for treaty-making. It analyses the relationship between the EU and its Members with emphasis on mixed agreements, and the status of international law in the EU legal order. It explores the links between the EU and international organisations (such as the WTO) and examines the EU's external economic and political relations and its various links with third countries, including its neighbours.

Mixed agreements are one of the most significant and complex areas of EU external relations law. They are concluded by the Member States and the EU (or the European Community in the pre-Lisbon days) with third countries and international organisations. This book, based on papers presented at a conference organised by the Universities of Leiden and Bristol in May 2008 provides, a comprehensive and up-to-date analysis of the legal and practical problems raised by mixed agreements.

L'Union peut-elle s'affirmer sur le plan international en disposant d'un faisceau de compétences sectorielles? Si l'Union reste une organisation spécialisée, dotée de compétences pour atteindre les objectifs assignés, l'approche globale des objectifs d'action extérieure, consacrée dans le traité de Lisbonne, donne une nouvelle signification au principe de spécialité : elle légitime l'interférence des compétences et leur exercice intégré dans la poursuite de l'objectif d'affirmation comme acteur global.

International law as law of the European Union explores how, and to what extent, international law still forms part of, and plays a role in, the current legal order of the European Union. Recent case law of the European Court of Justice prompted both scholars and practitioners to reconsider the relationship between EU law and international law. This volume reveals the practical development and consequences of this relationship, and places it in a conceptual framework by pointing to key arguments in the current debate.

International law is the definitive and authoritative text on the subject, offering Shaw's unbeatable combination of clarity of expression and academic rigour and ensuring both understanding and critical analysis in an engaging and authoritative style. Encompassing the leading principles, practice and cases, and retaining and developing the detailed references which encourage and assist the reader in further study, this new edition motivates and challenges students and professionals while remaining accessible and engaging.

This second edition of the award-winning volume from Professor Duncan B. Hollis provides a comprehensive guide to treaties, shedding light on the rules and practices surrounding the making, interpretation, and operation of these instruments. Foundational issues are covered, from defining treaties and their alternatives, to examining current theorizations about the treaty in international law. Chapters review specific stages in the treaty's life-cycle, including formation, application, interpretation, and exit. Special issues associated with treaties involving the European Union and other international organizations are also included.

Aust provides a wealth of examples of the problems experienced with treaties on a daily basis, not just when they are the subject of a court case. He explores numerous precedents from treaties and other related documents, such as memorandums of understanding (MOUs), in detail. Using clear, accessible language, the author covers the full extent of treaty law, drawing examples from both treaties and MOUs.

The Commentary on the Vienna Convention on the Law of Treaties provides an in-depth article-by-article analysis of all of the Vienna Convention's provisions. Each provision's analysis consists of (I) Purpose and function of the article, (II) Historical background with negotiating history, (III) Elements of the article and finally (IV) Treaties of international organizations. Furthermore, where the law of treaties reaches into other fields of international law, e.g. the law of state responsibility, the relevant interfaces are discussed and contextualized.

Les commentaires article par article permettent au chercheur comme au praticien de disposer d'une information ciblée, exhaustive et, le plus souvent, «opérationnelle » sur chacune des dispositions de l'instrument conventionnel commenté. La formule permet également de bénéficier des éclairages d'un nombre important de spécialistes du traité commenté, ce qui contribue pour beaucoup à la valeur et à l'intérêt de ce type d'ouvrage. C'est dans cette perspective qu'a été conçu ce commentaire de deux instruments-clés du droit international moderne : les Conventions de Vienne de 1969 et 1986 sur le droit des traités.

The 1969 and 1986 Vienna Conventions on the Law of Treaties aim at regulating what has become the main source of public international law and a crucial tool in inter-state relations. These volumes provide both international and national lawyers with an in-depth analysis of each provision of both Conventions. The structure of each commentary is essentially uniform, with the first part dedicated to the exposition of that provision's object and purpose and to the assessment of its customary status. The second part of each commentary deals with the main issues of interpretation raised by the provision in question.

Over the past six decades, the EU has been granted unique powers that enable it to act prominently on the international plane, thereby developing a worldwide bilateral and multilateral diplomatic network. Much like states, the EU sends ambassadors to all corners of the world and accredits permanent missions at its Brussels' headquarters. These developments shake the foundations of diplomatic and consular law, as these branches of international law are based on the principles of state sovereignty, non-interference, and reciprocity.

The 1969 Vienna Convention on the Law of Treaties, regulating treaties between States, lies at the heart of international law. This commentary interprets the Convention's 85 articles clearly and precisely. It also provides up-to-date information on ratifications and reservations.

The European Convention on Human Rights (ECHR) entered into force on 3 September 1953 with binding effect on all Member States of the Council of Europe. Professor Grabenwarter's Commentary deals with the Convention systematically, article-by-article, considering the development and scope of each article, together with the relevant case-law and literature.

L’ouvrage tend à étudier une matière qui a pris une place prépondérante dans l’ordre juridique des quarante-sept États membres du Conseil de l’Europe, qui recouvrent plus de huit cents vingt millions de personnes, en ce compris tous les États membres de l’Union européenne. La Convention européenne des droits de l’homme a, en effet, pénétré presque toutes les branches du droit. Il en est ainsi particulièrement de l’ordre juridique belge dont les autorités ont, dès les débuts, témoigné d’une grande fidélité au droit de la Convention.

Le présent manuel prétend éclairer certains aspects, notamment, la méthodologie des règles concernant l’acte constitutif, l’accès des États à l’organisation internationale (O.I.), la portée juridique des textes qu’elle adopte, le contenu des sanctions qu’elle prononce, les régimes de privilèges et immunités applicables à l’O.I., à ses agents et aux représentants des entités accréditées auprès d’elle, invitées ou mandatées par elle : États membres et non membres, autres O.I., observateurs, particuliers.

This book creates a user-friendly, accessible guide to the complex area of sanctions law. In particular, the book examines how sanctions restrictions work in practice, and what the implications are for multinational businesses operating across numerous sanctions regimes. To this extent, the book considers the interrelationship between sanctions at the supranational and national levels, including the impact of the far-reaching US sanctions regime.