The Treaty of Lisbon: Books

This Commentary provides an article-by-article summary of the TEU, the TFEU, and the Charter of Fundamental Rights, offering a quick reference to the provisions of the Treaties and how they are interpreted and applied in practice. The Commentary follows a set structure, offering a short overview of the Article, the Article text itself, a key references listincluding essential case law and legislation, and a structured commentary on the Article itself.

Detailed and comprehensive analysis of how the Treaty of Lisbon emerged in 2007 this book explores the role played by the German Council Presidency and the EU's institutional actors in securing agreement among the leaders of member states on an intergovernmental conference as well as a new treaty text to replace the rejected Constitutional Treaty.

The Lisbon Treaty, which came into force in December 2009, aims to make the European Union both more efficient and legitimate. Will the changes meet the declared goals of a more efficient and democratic Union which will allow the EU to act internationally with greater coherence and efficiency? If institutions matter, how much do they matter? How significant is the Lisbon Treaty? What kind of leadership will be available in the post-Lisbon EU?

This book outlines the content of the main treaties that form the 'constitutional' basis of the European Union and analyses changes in these over time. The EU has expanded its policy scope and taken in many more members transferring powers to common supranational institutions in a way seen nowhere else in the world.

In this edition of the European Basic Treaties you will find the full texts of the Treaty on European Union, the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union and the EU Charter of Fundamental Rights. It also contains the provisions of the Treaty of Lisbon that exist alongside these three core texts. Furthermore, the full text of the Protocols added by the Lisbon Treaty have been included as well as the major Declarations. The texts of the Treaty on the European Atomic Energy Community and the Explanations relating to the Charter on Fundamental Rights are not included. All these texts take account of the rectifications to the English language version up until November 2009.

The contributors to this book are all members of EuropEos, a multidisciplinary group of jurists, economists, political scientists, and journalists in an ongoing forum discussing European institutional issues. The essays analyze emerging shifts in common policies, institutional settings, and legitimization, sketching out possible scenarios for the European Union of the 21st century.

This book explains and justifies the Treaty of Lisbon which, the author argues, is an essential step forward for Europe. This book is the first accurate and comprehensive description of what the entry into force of the Lisbon treaty will mean. Its author provides logical answers both to those pro-Europeans who claim that Lisbon is of little importance and to those anti-Europeans who oppose further integration.

When EU leaders concluded the Lisbon Treaty in late 2007, it seemed that the constitutional process finally had come to an end. This work discusses the consequences of 'Lisbon' in various policy fields as well as the pros and cons of the Union's constitution as it stands with the Lisbon Treaty.

This book analyses the achievements and shortcomings of the post constitutional treaty process from the EU citizens' perspective. While discussing a variety of specific issues, authors focus on one basic question: Will the new treaty provide for reshaping citizens' expectations and involvement in the overall European integration project?

This book examines the Lisbon Treaty to determine whether the current 'dividing lines' between Member State and Union authority will be affected. Taking a broad view of what the EU is and what its members are trying to accomplish collectively, the author contrasts these aspirations for Europe with the insistence of each Member State that it must never lose its national sovereignty.

Le nouveau traité a été signé à Lisbonne le 13 décembre 2007. Mais est-ce vraiment un nouveau traité ? Est-il plutôt le traité simplifié, voire le mini-traité que le président Sarkozy suggérait ? Les annales le retiendront prudemment comme le traité de Lisbonne. Néanmoins, la polémique sur son intitulé officieux résume assez bien la controverse sur son véritable apport. Il reprend, dit-on couramment, plus de 90 % du traité constitutionnel. Que dit-il vraiment ? Pour répondre à cette question, Pascal Gilliaux analyse le texte adopté et le compare aux traités actuellement en vigueur et au défunt traité constitutionnel.

The current dissertation deals with an old topic of EU law regarding access by individuals to the Court of Justice of the European Union (CJEU) in order to challenge the validity of Union acts. The study is based on two landmark judgments rendered by the CJEU in 1986, i.e. Les Verts and Johnston. It argues that the bridge between these two decisions has not been fully built in the CJEU’s case-law, which has left room for uncertainties, ambiguities and insufficiencies in what concerns the judicial protection of private parties vis-à-vis the EU.

The Lisbon Treaty reformed the foundations of the European Union and marked the culmination of a process of Treaty reform that began after the Treaty of Nice and spanned almost a decade. This book addresses the main innovations made by the new Treaty, examining its legal and political consequences in a reformed EU. The book is organized thematically around the principal issues that occupied those engaged in the reforms over the last decade.

This comprehensive and insightful book discusses in detail the many innovations and shortcomings of the historic Lisbon version of the Treaty on European Union and what is now called the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union. Divided into six parts, the 23 chapters provide 'after Lisbon' perspectives on law and governance of the EU, its powers and nature, the Charter of Fundamental Rights, EU external action and policy, justice and criminal policy, and economic governance.

Jean-Claude Piris, the Director General of the Legal Service of the Council of the European Union, provides analyses the Lisbon Treaty in this book, looking at the historical and political contexts of the Treaty, its impact on the democratic framework of the EU and its provisions in relation to substantive law. Impartial legal analysis of the EU's functions, its powers and the treaties which govern it make this the seminal text on the most significant recent development in EU law. Foreword by Angela Merkel.

This book provides an account of the law of the EC and the EU; including description and commentary on the Economic and Monetary Union. It covers developments up to the beginning of 2008, and each chapter includes some indication of the major changes which will take place when the Treaty of Lisbon enters into force.

The Treaty of Lisbon was in fact a milestone in the process of expanding the EU's role on the level of international security. It stipulated in the Treaty on the European Union that the principal aspect of EU security is a mutual defense clause designed to protect all member states. The book aims to show the changes that are taking place in the EU as a result of the ongoing globalization and of the emergence of non-traditional threats in the securitization process. Therefore, this book was written with the aim of analyzing the current nature of the EU as a regional security complex (RSC), following the implementation of the Treaty of Lisbon.

This book addresses the implications of the proliferation of sectorial integration principles and the introduction of a universal requirement of policy consistency in terms of the division of competences between the Union and the Member States as well as the scope for judicial review of the EU legislative process. In particular, it explores whether the introduction of various integration principles has led to an extension of Union competences and whether it has limited the scope for judicial review by extending the discretionary power of the Union institutions.

A critical assessment by eminent legal and political science experts in the field, this book examines the two key factors which have deeply affected the position of national parliaments in European integrations: the entry into force of the Lisbon Treaty and the sovereign debt crisis in the Eurozone.Structured in three parts, the book will address the question, "Do national parliaments exhibit resilience or resignation in these changed politico-legal and socio-economic circumstances in the EU?"

On 1 December 2009 the Treaty of Lisbon entered into force. Although often described as primarily technical, it significantly amended the Treaty on the European Union (TEU) and the old EC Treaty (now the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union, TFEU). The authors' aim in this book is to explore what the Treaty means for social law and social policy at the European level.

The first part of this book focuses on the institutional relations of policymaking in AFSJ, both within member states and between member states, in particular the issues of national executive control, national parliamentary scrutiny and peer review across the member states with regard to AFSJ. The second part focuses on specific policy areas which are part of AFSJ.

This book analyses the hugely topical developments in European internal security between the 90s and 2011 at both the treaty and policy levels, as well as its implementation at the national level, from various disciplinary perspectives (political science, law, criminology, etc). This book was published as a special edition of European Security.

This volume of essays casts light on the shape and future direction of the EU in the wake of the Lisbon Treaty and highlights the incomplete nature of the reforms. Contributors analyse some of the most innovative and most controversial aspects of the Treaty, such as the role and nature of the EU Charter of Fundamental Rights and the relationship between the EU and the European Court of Human Rights. Together, the essays provide a variety of insights into some of the most crucial innovations introduced by the Lisbon Treaty and in the context of the adoption of the new European Financial Stability Mechanism.

Malgré les efforts de communication des institutions européennes elles-mêmes, les thèmes européens n’ont pas la faveur des médias nationaux. Le devoir d'expliquer l'Europe et de la faire vivre dans l'opinion publique s'impose plus que jamais. D'autant plusque notre arsenal législatif est désormais très nettement majoritairement déterminé par l’Europe. L’objectif général de cet ouvrage est de fournir au lecteur une boîte à outils contenant un jeu de clés destinées à comprendre les institutions et à faciliter le positionnement de chacun comme citoyen, comme usager ou comme partenaire de celles-ci.

This book examines the institutional innovations being introduced into the European Union as a result of 2009's Treaty of Lisbon. After examining the major changes taking place within the EU's major institutions--the European Council, European Parliament, and the European Commission--the authors look at the innovations brought by the treaty, such as the Presidency "triangle," the citizen's initiative, and the potentially enhanced role for national parliaments to play at the EU level.

Ce " petit guide " du traité de Lisbonne présente l'essentiel des changements apportés par le nouveau traité, tant sur le plan des réformes institutionnelles qu'en ce qui concerne les principales politiques de l'Union européenne. Ecrit dans un style simple et clair, il s'adresse à tous les citoyens désireux de connaître et de comprendre le fonctionnement de l'Europe. Les chapitres sont illustrés d'exemples concrets qui en rendent la lecture facile et vivante.

The seventh edition of EU Law: Text, Cases, and Materials provides clear analysis of all aspects of European law in the post Lisbon era. This edition looks in detail at the way in which the provisions of the Lisbon Treaty have worked since the Treaty became operational, especially innovations such as the hierarchy of norms, the different types of competence, and the legally binding Charter of Rights.

Law and Practice of the Common Commercial Policy provides a comprehensive analysis of the salient features of the European Union's trade law and policy since the Treaty of Lisbon: legislation, case law, treaty making and institutional practice.

Despite the Lisbon Treaty reforming the EU Treaty provisions on external relations, it was argued at the time of the Treaty’s entry into force that ‘mixity was here to stay’. While this has indeed proven to be the case, the Court of Justice’s jurisprudence has nonetheless redrawn the contours within which mixity can thrive and for the first time has confirmed the existence of ‘facultative mixity’. In light of these significant post-Lisbon developments the volume aims to clarify the law and policy of facultative mixed agreements in the EU’s treaty practice.

This book deals with human rights in European criminal law after the Lisbon Treaty. Doubtless the Lisbon Treaty has constituted a milestone in the development of European criminal justice. Not only has the reform following the Treaty given binding force to the EU Charter of Fundamental Rights, but furthermore it has paved the way for unprecedented forms of supranational legislation.

Cet ouvrage est structuré autour de deux questions : L'Union européenne, acteur en droit international : nouvelles perspectives et limites ? - Quels objectifs internationaux pour l'Union européenne ? Les objectifs internationaux de l'Union européenne ayant été réagencés dans un souci de cohérence et enrichis par le Traité de Lisbonne, ceux-ci ont été rassemblés autour des priorités contemporaines que sont le développement durable décliné dans ses dimensions économique, sociale et environnementale, et le maintien de la paix et de la sécurité internationale

Many of the most controversial areas of reform initiated by the Lisbon Treaty were not negotiated in the Treaty itself, but left to be resolved during its implementation. Since the Treaty's entry into force, the implementation process has already had a profound impact on many areas of EU law and policy, and consolidated new areas of power, such as over foreign investment. This collection gathers leading specialists in the field to analyze the Treaty's implementation and the directions of legal reform post-Lisbon.

L'introduction du droit pénal dans la construction européenne s'est faite avec la création du troisième pilier, pilier beaucoup moins contraignant que les deux autres du fait de la jalousie des États pour tout ce qui relève de leur pouvoir de punir. En effet le troisième pilier reposait sur des instruments (décisions-cadres) dépourvus d'effet direct et non susceptibles de fonder une action en manquement à rencontre des États membres.

Ten years after the Charter of Fundamental Rights of the European Union became part of binding primary law, and twenty years since its adoption, this volume assess the application of the EU Charter in the Member States.

Dans cet ouvrage, issu d'un colloque organisé par l'IDHAE à la Cour de Justice des Communautés européennes, à Luxembourg, le 16 mai 2008, envisagent à la lumière tant de son élaboration que de la récente ratification, le nouvel impact de la Charte en Europe après le traité de Lisbonne.

The entry into force of the Treaty of Lisbon in 2009 caused by the EU's Charter of Fundamental Rights to be granted binding effect. This raised a host of intriguing questions that this book tries to answer. The questions include the EU's commitment to fundamental rights, its effect on national law and private parties and the role of the Court of Justice the European Union and the European Court of Human Rights.