Western Balkans: Council info and EU publications

The European Union expresses its full and unequivocal commitment to the EU membership perspective of the Western Balkans and calls for the acceleration of the accession process.

Representatives of the EU member states, the Western Balkans and Turkey, the European Commission and the European Central Bank, as well as representatives of the central banks of the Western Balkans and Turkey met for their annual economic policy dialogue. The dialogue aims at preparing the Western Balkans and Turkey for their future participation in the European Semester.

The Council adopted conclusions on enhancing cooperation with Western Balkans partners in the field of migration and security, achieve a more efficient migration policy and border management, effectively combat organised crime, terrorism and violent extremism and to boost their ability to address the spread of disinformation and fake news and to respond to possible cyber-attacks and hybrid threats.

The Council today adopted conclusions on the EU's enlargement policy and the EU-Western Balkans stabilisation and association process - Albania and the Republic of North Macedonia.

In line with previous Council conclusions, and in the framework of the Copenhagen political criteria and of the Stabilisation and Association Process, which remains the common framework for relations with the Western Balkans, the Council reaffirms the need, in accordance with the renewed consensus on enlargement, for fair and rigorous conditionality and the principle of own merits.

The Council reiterates its unequivocal commitment to Bosnia and Herzegovina’s EU perspective as a single, united and sovereign country. The Council welcomes the continued presence of Operation Althea, which in the follow up of the Strategic Reviews 2017 and 2019 has refocused on its core mandate, while retaining the collective training as a task of the Operation.

The Council today adopted conclusions on the Commission's Opinion on Bosnia and Herzegovina's application for membership of the European Union. The Commission's Opinion, issued on 29 May, provides a comprehensive roadmap for reforms to guide and support the country on its path towards EU integration.

The Council reaffirms its commitment to enlargement, which remains a key policy of the European Union, in line with the renewed consensus on enlargement approved by the European Council on 14 and 15 December 2006 and subsequent Council conclusions. It continues to represent a strategic investment in peace, democracy, prosperity, security and stability in Europe.

The Ministers of Home Affairs and Justice of Spain, representing the Presidency of the Council of the European Union, together with the European Commission, represented by the European Commissioners for Home Affairs and for Justice, met on 26-27 October 2023 in Skopje with their counterparts from the Western Balkans at the annual EU-Western Balkans Ministerial Forum on Justice and Home Affairs. The meeting was also attended by representatives of the incoming Belgian and Hungarian presidencies of the Council of the EU.

The Council decided to authorise the opening of negotiations with Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro and Serbia to broaden agreements on Frontex cooperation.

The Working Party on the Western Balkans Region is responsible for EU relations with the Western Balkans region (Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, the Republic of North Macedonia, and Kosovo*).

This working party is in charge of the enlargement process and relations with the candidate countries negotiating their accession to the EU.

Enlargement is the process whereby countries join the European Union. Contains information on the accession criteria, the enlargement strategy and the current situation of the Western Balkans.

The General Affairs Council coordinates preparations for European Council meetings. It is also responsible for a number of cross-cutting policy areas, which include EU enlargement and accession negotiations

The Foreign Affairs Council is responsible for the EU's external action, which includes foreign policy, defence and security, trade, development cooperation and humanitarian aid.

The EU and its member states have taken a number of measures to address the migration situation on the Western Balkans route. On this page you'll find information on the Migration situation on the Western Balkans route and the EU action to tackle the Western Balkans migration route.

The summit was an opportunity to reaffirm the EU membership perspective of the Western Balkans and also the need for partners’ sustained and irreversible reform achievements, underpinned by EU values and principles.

The EU-Western Balkans summit took place in Tirana, Albania, on 6 December 2022. The Tirana declaration was agreed. Here is the full text.

Built on the existing close ties between the EU and the Western Balkans. Leaders discussed progress on EU integration and the challenges stemming from Russia’s aggression against Ukraine.

Council page on the summit of October 2021.

Council page on the summit of May 2020. The EU leaders adopted the Zagreb declaration, with which the Western Balkans partners have aligned themselves.

EU leaders agreed on the Sofia declaration, with which the Western Balkans partners have aligned themselves. They also adopted the Sofia priority agenda, as an annex to the declaration, outlining new measures for enhanced cooperation with the region.

Press material, meeting information, photographs, Council conclusions, documents and publications.

Press material, meeting information, photographs, Council conclusions, documents and publications.

Press material, meeting information, photographs, Council conclusions, documents and publications.

*This designation is without prejudice to positions on status, and is in line with UNSCR 1244/1999 and the ICJ Opinion on the Kosovo declaration of independence.

Press material, meeting information, photographs, Council conclusions, documents and publications.

Press material, meeting information, photographs, Council conclusions, documents and publications.

Press material, meeting information, photographs, Council conclusions, documents and publications.

EU cooperation with the Western Balkans offers unparalleled opportunities. The Agenda for the Western Balkans will open these opportunities to students, researchers, innovators and cultural operators so that they access new markets, become more competitive and build sustainable prosperity. It is a positive and forward-looking vision for all.

On the basis of a tailor-made methodology, the EIP projects’ impact is assessed according to their relevance, effectiveness and efficiency, as well as their synergies and coherence with the wider aims of the EIP and EU enlargement policy. The study identifies the novel aspects of these Flagship projects and considers lessons learned from previous EU and international assistance. Finally, the study evaluates the projects’ overall economic, social and environmental impacts as well as their transversal implications in the Western Balkans. In

Accurate and complete environmental information is at the basis of any effective sustainable development policy. This report summarises for the first time the status of air, climate, water and soil in the Western Balkans (WB), describing current knowledge as of 2021 and gaps with respect to the EU aquis in order to: a) benchmark the progress during the accession process, and b) support the implementation of the Green Agenda for the WB with particular reference to depollution and decarbonisation priorities.

The study developed 6 thematic dimensions, comprised of 44 indicators, to monitor market development for electronic communications and digital services in the Western Balkans economies and Turkey in relation to the requirements of the European Union. The indicators are closely aligned with 2020 Digital Economy and Society Index (DESI).

This paper examines the complementarities between the EU Strategy for the Adriatic and Ionian macro-region (EUSAIR) and the enlargement process to the Western Balkan countries participating in the EUSAIR. It analyses the EUSAIR and the relevant EU documents, and explores the potential contribution of the EUSAIR to the WB integration process with a series of 37 in-depth interviews. Finally, it makes a number of policy recommendations in this field.

In spite of signs of economic recovery in the second half of the year, the disruptive effects of the COVID-19 crisis led to strong output losses in the Western Balkans in 2020, with the region’s GDP contracting by 3.3%, down from an average growth rate of 3.6% in 2019.

During this Foreign Affairs Council meeting, the discussion on the Western Balkans was directed towards strengthening political cooperation between the EU and the Western Balkans, the situation in Bosnia and Herzegovina and the normalisation of relations between Serbia and Kosovo.

Les Balkans occidentaux sont depuis des siècles un point de passage entre l’Europe centrale et l’Orient. Dévastés par des conflits tragiques, des dérives nationalistes et des investissements négligés, les pays des Balkans occidentaux s’efforcent de trouver un nouvel équilibre.

This press release following the annual EU-Western Balkans Ministerial Forum on Justice and Home Affairs in Brdo pri Kranju covers themes discussed in the multilateral meeting, including border management, counterterrorism, organised crime and judicial reforms.

The adoption, implementation and enforcement of Chapter 27 of the EU acquis on Environment is an obligation for accessing countries. Reducing the emissions of air pollutants and greenhouse gases (GHG) is a priority which is strongly interlinked with energy, transport and health policies, among others. This report summarises the current status of air pollution and emission of pollutants and GHG in the countries of the Western Balkans (WB), describing the existing level of knowledge and the gaps with respect to the EU aquis in order to benchmark the future progress in this field, during the accession process.

Links to articles published by the EPRS on the Western Balkans.

The EU has close links with the Western Balkans partners. It aims to secure stable, prosperous and well-functioning democratic societies on a steady path towards EU integration. Includes the latest news on what is happening in the Western Balkans.

Contains policy background information, projects and results, and documents and publications.

Latest news and publications selected by the European Commission (Directorate-General for Neighbourhood and Enlargement Negotiations)

Trade plays an important role in the EU's efforts to promote peace, stability, freedom and economic prosperity in the Western Balkans.

Includes key documents and reports on the enlargement policy for the EU and Western Balkans.

The Economic and Investment Plan sets out a substantial investment package mobilising up to €9 billion of funding for the region. It will support sustainable connectivity, human capital, competitiveness and inclusive growth, and the twin green and digital transition.

The report outlines three scenarios on the possible futures of Research and Innovation (R&I) policies in the Western Balkans in 2035. Using a Strategic Foresight approach, the report supports policy-makers in creating an enabling environment for R&I policies to thrive and decide on priorities for strategic investments for the future.

Established in 1957, the European Union (EU) has grown from the six original members to 28 Member States as a result of six enlargements. EU enlargement policy currently concerns those countries applying for EU membership, and the potential candidates from the Western Balkans.

Exceptional trade measures for countries and territories involved with the EU’s stabilisation and association process.

The EU has developed a policy to support the gradual integration of the Western Balkan countries with the Union. On 1 July 2013, Croatia became the first of the seven countries to join, and Montenegro, Serbia, the Republic of North Macedonia and Albania are official candidates. Accession negotiations and chapters have been opened with Montenegro and Serbia, and Bosnia and Herzegovina and Kosovo are potential candidate countries.

This fact sheet presents the freshest Eurostat data on a small number of key indicators in the economic and social fields for the enlargement countries.

The Horizon Europe initiative will feature increased participation and opportunity for funding.