LibGuides: Appraisal and Development Dialogue : Books

Books

Performance conversations : using questions to coach employees, improve productivity and boost confidence (without appraisals) by Christopher D. Lee
ISBN: 1586446711
Publication Date: 2020
This question-based approach to management is built upon a sound theoretical foundation, uses proven management techniques, and offers a novel framework and tool for managers for regulating and enhancing the performance of their staff. Just as important, the new approach is both millennial- and remote worker-friendly as it incorporates features that speak to how they work.
The public productivity and performance handbook by Marc Holzer
Publication Date: 2021
A productive society is dependent upon high-performing government. Completely revised and focused on best practice, the handbook comprehensively explores managing for high performance, measurement and analysis, costs and finances, human resources, and cutting-edge organizational tools. Its coverage of new and systematic management approaches and well-defined measurement systems provides guidance for organizations of all sizes to improve productivity and performance.
Performance appraisal and management by Kevin Murphy
ISBN: 1506352898
Publication Date: 2018
Organizations of all sizes face the challenge of accurately and fairly evaluating performance in the workplace. This text explores common obstacles and why certain performance appraisal methods often fail. Using a strategic, evidence-based approach, the authors outline best practices for avoiding common pitfalls and help organizations achieve their maximum potential.
HBR guide to performance management by Harvard Business Review
ISBN: 9781633692794
Publication Date: 2017
Understanding where employees are succeeding - and falling short - is a pivotal part of ensuring an organization has the right talent to meet objectives. In order to work with people and effectively monitor their progress, there needs to be a system in place.
Performance leadership by Karen Moustafa Leonard and Fatma Pakdil
ISBN: 1631570145
Publication Date: 2016
In this book, the authors discuss Performance LeadershipTM - the idea of leading employee performance, which should be the focus of management. Just doing appraisal or evaluation is not enough. Managers must incorporate the entire model of performance management and use it to lead within their workgroup, department, or organization. The idea of making performance management work as a leadership style is new and simple, but it takes dedication to complete the task.
Performance management : towards organizational excellence by T. Venkateswara Rao
ISBN: 9351507297
Publication Date: 2016
Performance management when interpreted and used properly can create organizational excellence and enhance human capital value. At the global level, organizations have wasted much time over-focusing on the unattainable (objectivity in appraisals) and ignoring the more critical (continuous improvements in individual, dyadic, and team performance) goals. This book will help in enhancing the performance of individuals, dyads, and teams for achieving organizational excellence.
How to discuss 360 feedback : the essential guide by Julie Cooper
ISBN: 9780992758745
Publication Date: 2015
Giving 360 feedback can be daunting. How will the person respond to it? Filled with practical tips, this books instructs what one needs to do before, during and after the meeting, as well as handling any potential difficult situations.
La bible de l'efficacité professionnelle: 90 fiches pratiques pour mieux vous organiser, mieux communiquer, être "pro", prendre soin de vous, évoluer, changer de travail. by Richard Bourrelly
ISBN: 9782212560985
Publication Date: 2015
The book is composed of practical examples that answer questions throughout various fields. With its methods and practice situations, the volume aims to improve work performance through directly applicable real-world advice.
How to be good at performance appraisals : simple, effective, done right by Dick Grote
ISBN: 9781422162286
Publication Date: 2011
One of a manager's toughest--and most important--responsibilities is to evaluate an employee's performance, providing honest feedback and clarifying what they've done well and where they need to improve. Through step-by-step instructions, examples, do-and-don't bullet lists, sample dialogues, and suggested scripts, he shows you how to handle every appraisal activity from setting goals and defining job responsibilities to evaluating performance quality and discussing the performance evaluation face-to-face.
Construire les compétences individuelles : agir et réussir avec compétence by Guy Le Boterf
ISBN: 9782212546583
Publication Date: 2010
Clients and employers alike require more confidence in adept professionals. The book poses the question “what is a professional worker?”, instead of just “what is a competence?”. A professional may have competences and yet may not be competent. Through a combination of external and personal resources, the author frames competence not as a list of attributes, but rather as a learned process.
Performance appraisal : expert solutions to everyday challenges by Harvard Business Review
ISBN: 9781422128831
Publication Date: 2009
One of the most sensitive duties as a manager is conducting performance appraisals. This book teaches how to prepare for, conduct, and follow up on performance evaluations in ways that link employee performance to your company's and group's goals.
Coaching skills for leaders in the workplace : how to develop, motivate and get the best from your staff by Jackie Arnold
ISBN: 9781845283186
Publication Date: 2009
Leaders are often required to act as a coach or mentor for staff. This book will enable setting up coaching programmes that can make a significant difference to staff retention and motivation.
Effective phrases for performance appraisals : a guide to successful evaluations by James E. Neal
ISBN: 9781882423125
Publication Date: 2009
Here are over two thousand professionally written phrases which will clearly describe job performance. This valuable guide will make the completion of performance appraisals fast, easy and accurate.
Entretiens d'évaluation : guide pratique pour le manager efficace by Michel Lora and Pierre Miraillès
ISBN: 9782708137318
Publication Date: 2008
If done in an efficient and constructive manner, the performance review is a major act of management conducted throughout the year. It allows managers to estimate the competence of an employee in relation to their objectives, as well as helping to shape a productive future for all parties involved. The authors provide three fundamental ideas key to holding performance reviews: evaluating the value added by the employee and not the person themselves, determine their objectives, and using management styles to steer the worker towards desired results.
Productive performance appraisals by Paul Falcone and Randi Sachs
Publication Date: 2007
When not handled correctly, performance appraisals can turn into nerve-wracking confrontations. If employees and managers aren't on the same page about expectations and performance, the working relationship can be seriously harmed. The book shows readers how to plan and organize the appraisal session, set short- and long-term goals, elicit the employee's input, handle problems and subjects such as promotions and disagreements.
Performance management : measure and improve the effectiveness of your employees by Harvard Business School
ISBN: 9781422131749
Publication Date: 2006
Today's competitive workplace demands that managers evaluate employee performance, and provide coaching.
Improving employee performance through appraisal and coaching by Donald L. Kirkpatrick
Publication Date: 2006
In order to obtain exceptional employee performance, a company needs to build a thorough and consistent appraisal mechanism and coaching program. The book describes the methods in which a culture of coaching builds and enhances performance, and how to build this culture across the entire organization.

Book Abstracts

Performance reviews
GetAbstract provides succinct book summaries in both written and audio formats, with a range of languages. Employees of the Council may register for free with their GSC email. Every summary includes a rating, a recommendation, top take-aways, a full summary, significant quotes, an author biography and a link to the original source content – all of which can be absorbed in less than ten minutes. Performance reviews – done right – can be a very effective personnel management tool. Find out how you can do a better job of evaluating your staff members. These summaries are primarily aimed towards those in administration or leadership roles.

Fearless performance reviews coaching conversations that turn every employee into a star player by Jeffrey Russell and Linda Russell
Publication Date: 2013
Performance reviews shape employees’ pay and promotions and affect their sense of self-worth. Leaders can take a better path to performance reviews by facilitating “performance-coaching conversations"; this style calls for a “collaborative mind-set” between the manager and the employee.
The essential performance review handbook by Sharon Armstrong
Publication Date: 2010
Managers and employees alike often view performance reviews as unpleasant, but appraisals don’t have to be nasty ordeals. The performance evaluation can be a valuable tool for increasing productivity and helping a company reach its goals. Managers can learn to avoid common pitfalls and craft new approaches to reviews.
Painless performance conversations : a practical approach to critical day-to-day workplace discussions by Marnie E. Green
Publication Date: 2013
Many managers dislike having critical conversations with the employees they supervise. If not handled well, these “performance conversations” can be painful for employee and manager alike. If improved, such discussions can become spark plugs that enhance employees’ productivity and engage them more fully in their work.
How to make performance evaluations really work : a step-by-step guide complete with sample words, phrases, forms, and pitfalls to avoid by Glenn Shepard
Publication Date: 2005
This practical guide is a must-read for anyone who conducts performance evaluations - especially for those new to the process. Step-by-step, it explains why you should evaluate employee performance, how to set up a program and how to conduct the evaluations. Done well, employees learn what they are doing right, whether they are meeting expectations and how to improve. They learn to enhance their value to the company and their employability.
Stress-free performance appraisals : turn your most painful management duty into a powerful motivational tool by Madelyn Appelbaum and Sharon Armstrong
Publication Date: 2003
Appraisals can be useful, rewarding, constructive and motivational when supervisors and employees approach the exercise properly. Instead of being a dreaded, once-a-year event, the appraisal should be an ongoing, extended conversation. The authors advise following an "A-list": both participants should be accurate, attentive, active, and appreciative.