Cybersecurity: Books

Is it possible to achieve cybersecurity while safeguarding the fundamental rights to privacy and data protection? Addressing this question is crucial for contemporary societies, where network and information technologies have taken centre stage in all areas of communal life. This timely book answers the question with a comprehensive approach that combines legal, policy and technological perspectives to capture the essence of the relationship between cybersecurity, privacy and data protection in EU law.

This is the first book-length treatment of the advancement of EU global data flows and digital trade through the framework of European institutionalisation. Drawing on case studies of EU-US, EU-Japan and EU-China relations it charts the theoretical and empirical approaches at play.

This book deals with the complex and often challenging topics of cybersecurity and cybercrimes. The expansion in the use of the internet and thus cyberspace has led to the exponential growth of threats, vulnerabilities and risks for users. Cyberspace has therefore become a sort of battlefield where, in addition to different interconnected computer systems, hardware and software devices are capable of rendering inefficient or destroying physical or virtual infrastructures.

Discusses the evolution of IoT and Industry 4.0 and brings security and privacy related technological tools and techniques onto a single platform so that researchers, industry professionals, graduate, postgraduate students, and academicians can easily understand the security, privacy, challenges and opportunity concepts and make then ready to use for applications in IoT and Industry 4.0.

Today, as cyberspace is woven into the fabric of all aspects of society, the provision and undermining of security in digital spaces has become a new arena for digital pirates, privateers, and mercantile companies. In making the analogy to piracy and privateering, Egloff provides a new understanding of how attackers and defenders use their proximity to the state politically and offers lessons for understanding how actors exercise power in cyberspace.

The book identifies the technological features that give rise to security issues. It describes the structure of the Internet and how it is compromised by malware, and examines some of the more common security issues. It then looks at aspects of human persuasion and consumer choice, and how these affect cyber security. It argues that social networks and the related norms play a key role as does government policy, as each impact on individual behavior of computer use. The book identifies the most important human and social factors that affect cybersecurity. It illustrates each factor using case studies, and examines possible solutions from both technical and human acceptability viewpoints.

The study of cyberspace is relatively new within the field of social sciences, yet interest in the subject is significant. Conflicts, Crimes and Regulations in Cyberspace contributes to the scientific debate being brought to the fore by addressing international and methodological issues, through the use of case studies. This book presents cyberspace as a socio-technical system on an international level. It focuses on state and non-state actors, as well as the study of strategic concepts and norms. Unlike global studies, the socio-technical approach and "meso" scale facilitate the analysis of cyberspace in international relations. This is an area of both collaboration and conflict for which specific modes of regulation have appeared.

This open access book provides the first comprehensive collection of papers that provide an integrative view on cybersecurity. It discusses theories, problems and solutions on the relevant ethical issues involved. This work is sorely needed in a world where cybersecurity has become indispensable to protect trust and confidence in the digital infrastructure whilst respecting fundamental values like equality, fairness, freedom, or privacy. The book has a strong practical focus as it includes case studies outlining ethical issues in cybersecurity and presenting guidelines and other measures to tackle those issues. It is thus not only relevant for academics but also for practitioners in cybersecurity.

Learn to think like a hacker to secure your own systems and data. Hacking For Dummies takes you on an easy-to-follow cybersecurity voyage that will teach you the essentials of vulnerability and penetration testing so that you can find the holes in your network before the bad guys exploit them.

This book explores the need for cyber security and what individuals can do to fill the cybersecurity talent gap. Additionally, it also looks at security domain changes and how artificial intelligence and machine learning are helping to secure systems. It examines the skills and tools that everyone who wants to work as security personal need to be aware of, as well as how to think like an attacker and explore some advanced security methodologies.

In Cyber Smart, author Bart McDonough uses his extensive cybersecurity experience speaking at conferences for the FBI, major financial institutions, and other clients to answer the most common question he hears: "How can I protect myself at home, on a personal level, away from the office?"

Cybersecurity experts from across industries and sectors share insights on how to think like scientists to master cybersecurity challenges. Cybersecurity is as central to the Digital Age as physics and chemistry were to the Scientific Age. The Digital Big Bang explores current and emerging knowledge in the field of cybersecurity, helping readers think like scientists to master cybersecurity principles and overcome cybersecurity challenges. Phil Quade distills his over three decades of cyber intelligence, defense, and attack experience into an accessible, yet detailed, single-volume resource. Designed for non-specialist business leaders and cybersecurity practitioners alike, this authoritative book is packed with real-world examples, techniques, and strategies no organization should be without.

No data is completely safe. Cyberattacks on companies and individuals are on the rise and growing not only in number but also in ferocity. And while you may think your company has taken all the precautionary steps to prevent an attack, no individual, company, or country is safe. Cybersecurity can no longer be left exclusively to IT specialists. Improving and increasing data security practices and identifying suspicious activity is everyone's responsibility, from the boardroom to the break room. Cybersecurity: The Insights You Need from Harvard Business Review brings you today's most essential thinking on cybersecurity.

Cybersecurity Essentials provides a comprehensive introduction to the field. An effective defense consists of four distinct challenges: securing the infrastructure, securing devices, securing local networks, and securing the perimeter. Overcoming these challenges requires a detailed understanding of the concepts and practices within each realm. This book covers each challenge individually for greater depth of information, with real-world scenarios that show what vulnerabilities look like in everyday computing scenarios,

From passwords to opening emails, everyone knows what they should do but do you do it? Tons of malicious content floods the internet which can compromise your system and your device, be it your laptop, tablet or phone. How often do you make payments online? This book will guide you and provide solutions to avoid common mistakes and to combat cyber-attacks.

Internet security breaches have been in the news of late. Organizations, governments, businesses, and individual internet users are all at risk. This book introduces readers to the importance of cybersecurity and addresses the current risks from hackers, viruses and other malware, identity thieves, and other online perils. It provides concrete measures that young digital natives can take to protect themselves and their computers, smartphones, and other devices. This volume's lively, cautionary narrative and useful tips will help readers effectively defend their identities and data.

With our use of technology increasing every day, it's not surprising that our need for cybersecurity experts is also growing. In this informative text, readers will learn about why we need cybersecurity and what these security experts do to keep sensitive digital information safe. Students are introduced to the concept of computational thinking, as well as STEM concepts addressed in the Next Generation Science Standards. Informational diagrams and full-color photographs help students make connections with the text.

With the threats that affect every computer, phone or other device connected to the internet, security has become a responsibility not just for law enforcement authorities or business leaders, but for every individual. This book discusses security awareness issues and how you can take steps to reduce the risk of becoming a victim: The threats that face every individual and business, all the time. Specific indicators of threats so that you understand when you might be attacked and what to do if they occur.

Use this hands-on guide to understand the ever growing and complex world of digital security. Learn how to protect yourself from digital crime, secure your communications, and become anonymous online using sophisticated yet practical tools and techniques. This book teaches you how to secure your online identity and personal devices, encrypt your digital data and online communications, protect cloud data and Internet of Things (IoT), mitigate social engineering attacks, keep your purchases secret, and conceal your digital footprint.

Covers personal cybersecurity for all modes of personal computing whether on consumer-acquired or company-issued devices: desktop PCs, laptops, mobile devices, smart TVs, WiFi and Bluetooth peripherals, and IoT objects embedded with network-connected sensors. Through instructive examples and scenarios, the author shows you how to adapt and apply best practices to your own particular circumstances, how to automate and routinize your personal cybersecurity, how to recognize security breaches and act swiftly to seal them, and how to recover losses and restore functionality when attacks succeed.

Much of the work of national security agencies and private or hired-gun hackers occurs in secret and some of it involves cyberwarfare, a realm of constantly changing esoteric technology. When events come to light, they provoke considerable denial and conflicting narratives. This makes Pulitzer Prize-winning reporter Fred Kaplan’s lucid history of US involvement in cyberwarfare all the more impressive. In this useful look at a complicated subject, he explains cyberwar’s main participants and events, and he clarifies the politics and technologies involved.

P.W. Singer and Allan Friedman of the Brookings Institution reveal the mysteries of botnets and shed light on the murky areas of cyberwar and clandestine military operations.

This book seeks to explain the foundation of the evidence-based cybersecurity approach, review its relevance in the context of existing security tools and policies, and provide concrete examples of how adopting this approach could improve cybersecurity operations and guide policymakers' decision-making process. The evidence-based cybersecurity approach explained aims to support security professionals', policymakers', and individual computer users' decision-making regarding the deployment of security policies and tools by calling for rigorous scientific investigations of the effectiveness of these policies and mechanisms in achieving their goals to protect critical assets.

This book examines new and challenging political aspects of cyber security and presents it as an issue defined by socio-technological uncertainty and political fragmentation. Structured along two broad themes and providing empirical examples for how socio-technical changes and political responses interact, the first part of the book looks at the current use of cyber space in conflictual settings, while the second focuses on political responses by state and non-state actors in an environment defined by uncertainties.

Besides the development of the EU Global Strategy in 2016 and the inauguration of various coordination and cooperation endeavours (PESCO, CARD, EDF), the ambitious vision of the European (Security and) Defence Union is moving rather slowly. Within the new global multipolar system and the unstable international environment, the EU should make more effort to enhance its strategic autonomy and become a strong security actor in a rapidly changing world. As President of the Commission Ursula von der Leyen said at the 2021 State of the Union What has held us back until now is not just a shortfall of capacity – it is the lack of political will.

The authors provide a policy overview followed by discussions of several popular cybersecurity frameworks, such as NIST, COBIT, PCI/DSS, ISO series, etc. Each chapter is followed by an overall summary and review that highlights the key points as well as questions for readers to evaluate their understanding based on the chapter content.

Through twelve detailed case studies, this collection provides an overview of the ways in which government officials and corporate leaders across the globe are responding to the challenges of cybersecurity. Drawing perspectives from industry, government, and academia, the book incisively analyses the actual issues and provides a guide to the continually evolving cybersecurity ecosystem. It charts the role that corporations, policymakers, and technologists are playing in defining the contours of our digital world. Rewired: Cybersecurity Governance places great emphasis on the interconnection of law, policy, and technology in cyberspace. It examines some of the competing organizational efforts and institutions that are attempting to secure cyberspace and considers the broader implications of the in-place and unfolding efforts–tracing how different notions of cybersecurity are deployed and built into stable routines and practices.

Addressing open problems in the cyber world, the book consists of two parts. Part I focuses on cyber operations as a new tool in global security policy, while Part II focuses on new cyber security technologies when building cyber power capabilities. The topics discussed include strategic perspectives on cyber security and cyber warfare, cyber security implementation, strategic communication, trusted computing, password cracking, systems security and network security among others.

The present handbook gives an overview of the state of affairs in European cybersecurity. It was edited and published by the Ministry of Defence of Austria during the Austrian Presidency of the Council of the European Union. It is the fifth handbook in the series of CSDP publications. In a global context where security is never just a matter of traditional defence and where the real world merges with the cyberworld, cybersecurity is a collective responsibility. It calls on each and every one of us, citizens of Europe, to invest in the most powerful tool we have to exercise our sovereignty, advance our interests and stand by our values: our European Union.

This Scientific Opinion responds to a request from European Commission Vice President Andrus Ansip for scientific advice on cybersecurity in the EU in the context of the European Digital Single Market. The advice in this Scientific Opinion is based on analysis of publiclyavailable scientific literature as well as extensive consultation with the scientific community. The High Level Group also bases its advice on relevant principles in the Charter of Fundamental Rights of the European Union and others which are particularly pertinent to cybersecurity policy including transparency, duty-of-care towards customers and shared responsibility. The advice takes the form of ten recommendations and a number of observations.

This book discusses cyber security and cyber policy in an effort to improve the use and acceptance of security services. It argues that a substantive dialogue around cyberspace, cyber security and cyber policy is critical to a better understanding of the serious security issues we face.

This book offers a comparative perspective on data protection and cybersecurity in Europe. In light of the digital revolution and the implementation of social media applications and big data innovations, it analyzes threat perceptions regarding privacy and cyber security, and examines socio-political differences in the fundamental conceptions and narratives of privacy, and in data protection regimes, across various European countries. The first part of the book raises fundamental legal and ethical questions concerning data protection; the second analyses discourses on cybersecurity and data protection in various European countries; and the third part discusses EU regulations and norms intended to create harmonized data protection regimes. 

This revised and expanded edition of the Research Handbook on International Law and Cyberspace brings together leading scholars and practitioners to examine how international legal rules, concepts and principles apply to cyberspace and the activities occurring within it. In doing so, contributors highlight the difficulties in applying international law to cyberspace, assess the regulatory efficacy of these rules and, where necessary, suggest adjustments and revisions.

This book examines the legal and policy aspects of cybersecurity. It takes a much needed look at cybersecurity from a geopolitical perspective. Through this lens, it seeks to broaden the reader's understanding of the legal and political considerations of individuals, corporations, law enforcement and regulatory bodies and management of the complex relationships between them. The work seeks to highlight the constant threat of cybersecurity against various audiences, with the overall aim of facilitating discussion and reaction to actual probable events.

The modern world has been subject to information and communication technology penetration at an unprecedented level. While the early battles over Internet regulation have largely subsided, the debate around who regulates and when, remains strong. This book gives an overview of EU Internet regulations, as well as evaluates EU policy-making and governance. Itbegins with a detailed examination of the constitutional context within which the Internet is regulated and the various policy documents that have informed this regulation over the years. It then examines key issues in Internet regulation, including electronic commerce, jurisdiction, content regulation, intellectual property, consumer protection, and criminal regulation.

This book provides an overview of legal developments concerning the digital era, to examine the extent to which law has or will further evolve in order to adapt to its new digitalized context. More specifically it focuses on some of the most important legal issues found in areas directly connected with the Internet, such as intellectual property, data protection, consumer law, criminal law and cybercrime, media law and, lastly, the enforcement and application of law. By adopting this horizontal approach, it highlights – on the basis of analysis and commentary of recent and future EU legislation as well as of the latest CJEU and ECtHR case law – the numerous challenges faced by law in this new digital era.

This book incorporates recent developments that artificial intelligence brings to the cybersecurity world. Artificial Intelligence and Cybersecurity: Advances and Innovations provides advanced system implementation for Smart Cities using artificial intelligence. It addresses the complete functional framework workflow and explores basic and high-level concepts. The book is based on the latest technologies covering major challenges, issues and advances, and discusses intelligent data management and automated systems.

Dr. Leon Reznik delivers an expert synthesis of artificial intelligence, machine learning and data science techniques, applied to computer security to assist readers in hardening their computer systems against threats.

The book simplifies the socio-technical aspects of Cybersecurity and draws valuable lessons from the impacts COVID-19 cyberattacks exerted on computer networks, online portals, and databases. The book also predicts the fusion of Cybersecurity into Artificial Intelligence and Big Data Analytics, the two emerging domains that will potentially dominate and redefine post-pandemic Cybersecurity research and innovations between 2021 and 2025.

In today's digital world, the words "smart" and intelligent" are now used to label devices, machinery, systems, and even environments. What is a "smart" system? Is "smart" synonymous with "intelligent"? If not, what does an "intelligent system" mean? Are all smart systems intelligent? This book tries to answer these questions by summarizing the existing research in various areas and providing new research findings.

The book examines some of the core problems that technology raises for criminal law ranging from privacy and data protection, to cyber-warfare, through to the theft of virtual property. Focusing on the West and China, the work considers the issue of AI and the law in a comparative context presenting the research from a cross-jurisdictional and cross-disciplinary approach.

This edited volume focuses on the impact on artificial intelligence (AI) on nuclear strategy. It assembles the views of 14 experts from the Euro-Atlantic community on why and how machine learning and autonomy might become the focus of an armed race among nuclear-armed states; and how the adoption of these technologies might impact their calculation of strategic stability and nuclear risk at the regional level and trans-regional level.

Artificial intelligence has emerged as a great solution for building smarter and safer security systems that allow you to predict and detect suspicious network activity, such as phishing or unauthorized intrusions. This cybersecurity book presents and demonstrates popular and successful AI approaches and models that you can adapt to detect potential attacks and protect your corporate systems. You'll learn about the role of machine learning and neural networks, as well as deep learning in cybersecurity, and you'll also learn how you can infuse AI capabilities into building smart defensive mechanisms.

Predicting the future is notoriously difficult. Nevertheless, the main goal of this document is to identify the cybersecurity threats to European society and to identify priorities in research that will lead to mitigations before those cybersecurity threats materialise. By identifying future problem areas, Europe can take a proactive approach in defending against anticipated threats.