LibGuides: Hungarian Presidency: Discover more

Official website of the Hungarian presidency of the EU

Hungarian presidency of the Council of the European Union
Official webpage of the Hungarian presidency of the Council of the European Union. Discover all the news, events, speeches, presidency priorities, programme and press releases of the presidency.
Priorities of the Hungarian Presidency of the EU
Hungary holds the presidency of the Council of the European Union in the second half of the year, starting on 1 July. Here are the priorities of the Hungarian presidency for this semester:
1. New European Competitiveness Deal
2. The reinforcement of European defence policy
3. A consistent and merit-based enlargement policy
4. Stemming illegal migration
5. Shaping the future of cohesion policy
6. A farmer-oriented EU agricultural policy
7. Addressing demographic challenges
The Hungarian presidency programme
The Hungarian presidency programme sets out the priorities and main directions of the Hungarian presidency of the Council of the EU. The Hungarian term takes place from the 1st of July to the 31st of December 2024.
About Hungary
The inside source. Hungarian government website from the International Communications Office, Cabinet Office of the Prime Minister.
Permanent Representation of Hungary to the European Union
The Permanent Representation of Hungary to the European Union plays a central role in exercising the rights deriving from the EU membership, fulfilling obligations and effectively representing Hungarian interests. As a primary duty, the Permanent Representation is taking part in the elaboration and representation of the Hungarian position in EU decision making.

Hungarian Press (Some resources listed restricted to Council staff)

Magyar Hang
Magyar Hang is a Hungarian liberal-conservative newspaper founded in 2018.
Magyar Nemzet
Magyar Nemzet is a conservative Hungarian newspaper.
Atlatszo
Atlatszo is an investigative journalism nonprofit and a watchdog NGO that promotes transparency, accountability, and freedom of information in Hungary. Atlatszo is financed by nonpartisan and non-governmental sources; it does not accept money from Hungarian state institutions, political parties and affiliates.
444.hu
444.hu is a news website created by former Index journalists and owned by Magyar Jeti Zrt. He is one of the main representatives of gonzo journalism in Hungary. Information is published in Hungarian.
Telex
Telex is a Hungarian news portal. It publishes in both English and Hungarian. The portal strives to be neither left nor right leaning, and aims to present the facts in an objective manner.
The Budapest Times
The Budapest Times is an English-language newspaper reporting on events in Hungary. The paper is published monthly and is owned by Budapest-Zeitung Kft
24.HU
News website that incorporates elements such as digital storytelling into its reporting.
PressReader
The PressReader collection covers more than 7000 newspapers and magazines from all over the world. There are publications from over 120 countries and in more than 60 languages.
Hungarian media guide - BBC
A list of some of the main Hungarian press, radio, television, news agencies and their affiliations.

With a focus on Hungary (Some resources listed restricted to Council staff)

Politico - Hungarian Presidency of the EU
Follow the last news published about Hungary and the Hungarian Presidency of the EU.
Access Politico PRO for more insights and analysis.
Courrier international: Hongrie
Courrier international est un hebdomadaire d’actualité créé en novembre 1990 qui propose à ses lecteurs une sélection du meilleur de la presse étrangère, traduit en français. Le contenu du journal et de son site Internet proviennent de plus de 1 500 sources du monde entier.
EU Observer: Hungary
EUobserver is a not-for-profit, independent online newspaper which focuses on EU-related issues. Under "Focus" you will find several topics : Green deal, Coronavirus, Nordic news, EU & China, Youth & Education.
Euronews - Hungary
Un média international qui fournit des informations avec une perspective européenne à un public mondial à travers 12 langues multiplateformes. Nous touchons aujourd’hui 400 millions de foyers à travers 160 pays et sommes la chaîne d’information la plus regardée d’Europe continentale.

Databases (Some resources listed restricted to Council staff)

EIU Country Report: Hungary
The EIU’s Country Report examines and explains the important political and economic trends in a country. It contain in-depth and ongoing analysis and forecasts of political, policy and economic conditions in a country, to help you understand what is happening now and to gain a picture of how a country will look in the future.
Connect by S&P Global
Information and analysis on global economics and country risks, including in-depth analysis and forecasts for around 200 countries, including Hungary (please navigate the tab Geography).
Oxford Analytica Daily Brief: Hungary
Oxford Analytica is an independent, privately held company founded in 1975 to bring timely and authoritative analysis of world developments to business and government leaders, to identify the key political, economic, legal and regulatory factors in complex markets.
Eurointelligence Professional
A specialist internet-based service for economic news and analysis of the euro area. Highly specialist information from international and national information sources. Politics, economics, and finance of the eurozone, global economic and financial events to the extent that they relate to the eurozone. Registration obligatory (max. 500 users) Go to https://registration.eurointelligence.com/ and fill in the form "Existing group subscription", using your corporate/institutional email address.
Agence Europe
Agence Europe suit les actualités européennes et analyse les politiques sectorielles de l'Union.
Agence Europe est l’éditeur du Bulletin Quotidien Europe depuis mars 1953.
UNCTADstat: Hungary
United Nations Conference on Trade and Development produces more than 150 indicators and statistical time series essential for the analysis of international trade, economic trends, foreign direct investment, external financial resources, population and labour force, commodities, the information economy and maritime transport.
European Sources Online : Hungarian Presidency of the Council of the EU
ESO is a free-access database and information service, which aims to support research and understanding on any matter relating to Europe. It offers curated information and a wide range of sources, enabling information provision to users holding different levels of expertise. These resources linked to the Hungarian Presidency of the Council of the EU.
European Council Studies [Eurocomment]
EuroComment’s Pre-Summit Briefings and European Council Notes were launched 20 years ago and based on a wide range of published and unpublished sources, including interviews with key players. They provide a continuous, highly readable and independent narrative of the politics and policies of the European Council.

Library Guides

Eureka

Eureka
Eureka is the Council Library's discovery service.

Eureka is the main information point about resources and services from the Council Library, there you can:

Search and browse the library's collections, not only books and journals but also databases, book chapters, articles, references... physical and online.
Reserve books and renew your loans
Save searches, set alerts, save your favourites...

Please visit this Library guide to know more about how to use Eureka

Ebook Central

Ebook Central by ProQuest
Ebook Central is a collection of scholarly eBooks from leading publishers. It covers the arts, business, education, health & medicine, history, law, literature & language, religion & philosophy, science & technology and the social sciences.

The Council library manages licences in order to provide direct access to as many ebooks as possible.
You can easily find the links to our ebooks by consulting Eureka.
You will recognise them when you see this:

On the Ebook Central platform, you can request access to selected ebooks via a built-in form. We now use a single sign-on authentication service called OpenAthens that enables access to subscription-based electronic resources both inside and outside the GSC network.

For more information, please consult the Library Guide : "Ebooks: How to & tips" or Contact the Council Library.

Hungarian Presidency: Discover more