Transport: Books

International Aviation Law: A Practical Guide explains the international context and application of the law as it applies to commercial and recreational aviation, and to the broader aviation environment. It provides a comprehensive introduction to all aspects of aviation law, from criminal law to contract law, to the legal duties and responsibility of aircrew and other aviation personnel including airport operators, air traffic controllers and aircraft engineers.

This book embarks on a discussion of rulemaking in air transport, its processes and legalities, starting with a deconstruction of work carried out at the time of writing in various fields of air transport by the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) which should be at the apex of rulemaking.

The core structure of the regulatory regime for international civil aviation (the 'Chicago System') is inter-national. The features of the Chicago System were designed in an era when the world's airlines were State-owned, and the most pressing international concerns were for navigation and safety regulation. Economic liberalization and intense globalization since the Second World War have impacted on the industry; today, it is global. This book observes the developing governance of global aviation, taking into account the concepts of sovereignty, jurisdiction and territoriality, and the proliferation of actors and participants as partners in a global public policy network, to posit that an upgraded system of global governance for civil aviation helps to explain the emerging complex landscape for global governance of civil aviation.

Regulation 261/2004 on Air Passengers Rights has been amongst the most high-profile pieces of EU secondary legislation of the past years, generating controversial CJEU judgments, from ex parte IATA to Sturgeon. The Regulation has led to equally challenging decisions across the Member States, with domestic courts holding that a Regulation could not be relied upon by an individual claimant or even threatening outright to refuse an application of its provisions.

This book presents a thorough analysis of the EU provisions and legal framework of passenger rights in the civil aviation field. It provides both a theoretical and practical view of the initiatives that have been taken in this field. This includes initiatives taken by the European Commission (EC) with the aim to improve the protection of passengers and by the European Court of Justice (ECJ) with regard to jurisprudence.

This book offers an extraordinary wealth of information, from the ground up, of the law governing and regulating air transport today, with a strong emphasis on international aviation. A team of distinguished authors in the field of aviation law provide a cogent synthesis from which sound legal opinions and strategies of legal action may be confidently built.

The Development of the EU as a Sea-Policy Actor explores the marine and maritime policies of the European Union (EU), including fisheries, maritime transport, marine environment and maritime safety policies. It analyses the naval missions off Somalia's coast and in the Mediterranean Sea, as well as maritime border control activities in the latter. These various policies have made the EU an important sea-policy actor, not only internally, but also externally.

EU Shipping Law is the foremost reference work for professionals in this area. This third edition has been completely revised to include developments in the competition/antitrust regime, new safety and environmental rules, and rules governing security and ports. It includes detailed commentary and analysis of almost every aspect of EU law as it affects shipping.

EU Maritime Transport Law provides a comprehensive article-by-article analysis of the most relevant of the EU Regulations and EU Directives. The book covers the following issues: The EU and Maritime Transport: A Comprehensive Overview, Regulatory Issues in Shipping, Environmental Policy and Pollution Control, Maritime Safety, Maritime Security and Infrastructure, Consumer Protection and Passenger Rights, Carriage of Goods by Sea and Litigation, Market Access, Competition, State Aid, Maritime Labour and Working Conditions, The Regulation of Inland Waterway Transport.

Jurisdiction over Ships: Post-UNCLOS Developments in the Law of the Sea analyses international law developments in shipping since the adoption of the UN Convention on the Law of the Sea (UNCLOS) in 1982. The Convention's rules on the rights and obligations of flag states, coastal states and port states, have by and large been accepted and adhered to by states, but the legal regime for the oceans is neither complete nor static, nor was it intended to be so. New issues have surfaced while old issues have changed their character. Developments in law and practice have already resulted in some divergences between the jurisdictional scheme outlined in UNCLOS and how states in reality exercise their jurisdiction over ships.

This book builds a bridge between current research in space policy and contemporary European political studies by addressing developments in European space policy and its significance for European integration. It answers questions central to European studies applying them to the burgeoning field of EU space policy and takes an interdisciplinary approach, examining space policy in the light of a range of policy areas including common foreign security policy, technology policy, transport policy and internal market.

Human activities in outer space will become ever more important because of increasing commercial activities such as space tourism, civilian and military activities, especially satellite launches, all the way to a potential future mining of extra-terrestrial commodities stemming from celestial bodies. The handbook describes the legal grounds for such human activities in outer space and on celestial bodies in 12 chapters. At the outset, an overview of the history of space flight, of space law and the applicable legal sources is given as well as the main legal concepts of international space law.

This handbook is a reference work providing a comprehensive, objective and comparative overview of Space Law. The global space economy reached $330 billion in 2015, with a growth rate of 9 per cent vis-à-vis the previous year. Consequently, Space Law is changing and expanding expeditiously, especially at the national level. More laws and regulations are being adopted by space-faring nations, while more countries are adapting their Space Laws and regulations related to activities in outer space. More regulatory bodies are being created, while more regulatory diversity (from public law to private law) is being instituted as increasing and innovative activities are undertaken by private entities which employ new technologies and business initiatives.

The book then presents a series of thematic reports on who holds the competences required in order to ensure Urban mobility, what the authorizations and procedures established in order to ensure Urban mobility are, how urban mobility policy does interact with urban planning law, how Urban mobility policy does interact with environmental protection policy and how Urban mobility policy does interact with traffic and parking issues. --publisher.

One of the biggest challenges facing you and the road transport industry is the constant introduction of new legislation. In order to protect your business and avoid penalties, equip yourself with the latest knowledge of updates to regulations with Lowe's Transport Manager's and Operator's Handbook 2019.